• HS Boys BB 2/24: Maplewood Baptist 74, Hannahville 60
  • HS Hockey 2/24: Houghton 4, Calumet 1
  • HS Hockey 2/24: Hancock 6, Painesdale-Jeffers 4
  • HS Girls BB 2/24: Maplewood Baptist 43, Big Bay deNoc 36
5850 articles
Monday February 26, 2024
4-1: Escanaba Hockey Tops DePere On Senior Night

Click the thumbnails to see photos and videos taken by Liz Taylor.

ESCANABA---
The Escanaba High School hockey team picked up a win in its regular season home game Friday night, 4-1, over DePere Voyageurs, at the Wells Sports Complex.

Graham Johnson scored a hat trick, and Brett Labre scored on Senior Night.

Johnson continued his recent scoring tear, and now has 49 points on the season (27 goals, 22 assists). Cully Hayes stopped 26 of the 27 shots he faced to earn the victory in net.

Johnson's first goal at the 10:32 mark of the first period gave the Eskymos the lead, and then Labre followed up his own shot with a rebound that made it 2-0. Two minutes later, Johnson scored again, ths time on the power play, to make it a 3-0 game.

DePere's Gabe Foth scored at the 13:15 mark of the second period to cut the lead to 3-1, before Johnson completed his hat trick with 1:40 left in the game to seal the Eskymo win.

Ben Sands had a three-assist playmaker, and Nolan Bink added two assists.

The game was played before a large crowd at the Wells Sports Complex, as the boys and girls basketball teams were playing on the road at Norway and Calumet, respectively. The Eskymo pep band was in attendance, as was the EskyMo mascot.

Escanaba improved to 12-11-0 on the season. DePere's record fell to 11-12-1.

Escanaba closes the regular season next weekend with two games in Sault Ste. Marie, against the host Soo Blue Devils, as well as against downstate power Orchard Lake St. Mary.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



UPPER PENINSULA HOCKEY SCORES/SCHEDULES
Saturday February 24, 2024
Marquette Rolls Past Eskymos In Regional Semi, 7-1
Friday February 23, 2024
DE JA VU: Eskymos Steal Victory From Manistique
Wednesday February 7, 2024
BOUNCING BACK: Eskymo Hockey Routs Shawano
Saturday February 3, 2024
BUSY WEEK STARTS: Eskymos Roll Past Negaunee
Wednesday January 31, 2024
STUNNING RALLY! Eskymos Beat Emeralds Again
Wednesday January 17, 2024
UP Hockey Teams Battle In Overtime At Showcase
Sunday January 14, 2024
Eskymo Hockey Grinds For 5-3 Win Over Bay City
Friday January 12, 2024
Eskymos Break Losing Skid With Win In Kingsford
Friday January 5, 2024
HOLIDAY HOCKEY: Eskymos Hold Alumni Games
Sunday December 24, 2023
COPPER COUNTRY BLUES: Eskymos Lose Again
Saturday December 23, 2023
Big Third Period Helps Hancock Top Eskymos, 5-2
Saturday December 16, 2023
Johnson's Four Points Help Esky Win In Wisconsin
Wednesday December 13, 2023
Bink Gets Seven Points As Eskymos Smack Miners
Wednesday December 6, 2023
ROUGH NIGHT: Eskymos Lose To Jeffers In L'Anse
Saturday December 2, 2023
Escanaba Cruises Past Kingsford For Home Ice Win
Wednesday November 22, 2023