• HS Baseball 4/23: Kingsford 6, Marquette 2
  • HS Baseball 4/23: Norway 15, North Central 0
  • HS Softball 4/23: Gladstone 10, Menominee 0
  • HS Softball 4/23: Negaunee 5, Escanaba 1
  • HS Softball 4/23: Calumet 15, Kingsford 3
  • HS Baseball 4/23: Negaunee 3, Hancock 2
  • HS Softball 4/23: Norway 9, North Dickinson 5
  • HS Softball 4/23: Sault Ste. Marie 20, Marquette 10
5910 articles
Wednesday April 24, 2024
HISTORY! Kuhn Becomes Northern Scoring Leader

Stroy written by NMU Sports Information. Click the AUDIO button to hear post-game comments from Makaylee Kuhn. Also click the VIDEO to see Kuhn's clinching points, and hear RRN's Casey Ford's call of the points.

MARQUETTE, Mich. -
It was a historic night on Thursday at the Berry Events Center, as Makaylee Kuhn connected on a reverse layup in the third quarter to become the all-time scoring leader for the Northern Michigan women's basketball team, as she helped guide the 'Cats to a 76-49 victory over U.P. foe Lake Superior State.

Kuhn triumphed the previous record set by Lisa (Jamula) Maki who held the record for 33 years with 1,699 career points. Kuhn now holds the record with 1,709 points overall as she led all scorers with 18 points on the evening, shooting 8-16 from the field and tacking on eight rebounds.

Jacy Weisbrod (13) and Alyssa Nimz (12) both contributed double figures off the bench. Weisbrod led the way on the glass with 10 rebounds for her first double-double.   

After trailing 14-13 after 10 minutes, the Green and Gold turned it up, outscoring the Lakers 63-35 the rest of the night. NMU held LSSU to a 19-64 (29.7%) shooting clip while they were a much cooler 2-20 (10.0%) from three. The 'Cats also dominated the glass 53-29, with a 11-3 edge on offensive boards.

All 11 Wildcats to enter the contest got on the score sheet and 10 dished out an assist, a season-high. With the win, the Wildcats increased their record to 10-4 overall and 4-1 in the GLIAC.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



JACY GOES OFF! NMU Women Win NCAA Opener
Saturday March 16, 2024
NMU Ladies Push Past Ferris; #1 Grand Valley Next
Saturday March 9, 2024
Northern Women Beat Davenport; Honor Seniors
Sunday March 3, 2024
OH, SO CLOSE: Wildcat Ladies Fall To No. 2 Lakers
Friday March 1, 2024
NMU Women Rally In Detroit; Clinch Home Playoff
Saturday February 24, 2024
RIVALRY REVENGE: Northern Shuts Down Tech
Saturday February 17, 2024
Kuhn Double-Double Helps 'Cats Beat UW-Parkside
Thursday February 8, 2024
Weisbrod, Kuhn Lead NMU Past Lake State, 73-50
Saturday February 3, 2024
Rough Third Quarter Dooms NMU At Ferris State
Friday February 2, 2024
BIG ROAD WIN: NMU Ladies Upset UW-Parkside
Saturday January 20, 2024
Weisbrod Career-High Leads Northern Past Pride
Friday January 19, 2024
NMU Ladies Roll Past Davenport With 23-0 Spurt
Thursday January 4, 2024
Wildcat Women Clamp Down On Northwood, 68-43
Wednesday December 20, 2023
NMU Ladies Overwhelm Quincy In Wisconsin Dells
Monday December 18, 2023
Kuhn Drops 30 As 'Cats Earn GLIAC-Opening Win
Thursday December 7, 2023
NMU Women's Basketball Loses Two In Minnesota
Sunday November 26, 2023
OH, SO CLOSE: Wildcat Ladies Fall To #1 Ashand
Wednesday November 22, 2023
4-0 START: Wildcat Women Pull Away Late, 74-53
Saturday November 18, 2023
NMU Women's Basketball Gets Sweep At Crossover
Sunday November 12, 2023
NMU Ladies Compete Hard Against UW-Green Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2023