• HS Baseball 4/23: Kingsford 6, Marquette 2
  • HS Baseball 4/23: Norway 15, North Central 0
  • HS Softball 4/23: Gladstone 10, Menominee 0
  • HS Softball 4/23: Negaunee 5, Escanaba 1
  • HS Softball 4/23: Calumet 15, Kingsford 3
  • HS Baseball 4/23: Negaunee 3, Hancock 2
  • HS Softball 4/23: Norway 9, North Dickinson 5
  • HS Softball 4/23: Sault Ste. Marie 20, Marquette 10
5910 articles
Wednesday April 24, 2024
NMU Ladies Overwhelm Quincy In Wisconsin Dells

Story courtesy of NMU Sports Information. Click the AUDIO button to hear Casey Ford's interview with Wildcat Coach Casey Thousand.

 

WISCONSIN DELLS, Wis. - The Northern Michigan women's basketball team used a commanding 27-7 second quarter to triumph the Quincy Hawks 82-56 on Sunday at the Waterpark Capital of the World. 

Northern saw all 10 who entered the game find the net in the contest, with Makaylee Kuhn leading the way on an efficient 20-point, 11-rebound double-double. She shot 8-13 from the floor and added three steals.
 

Alyssa Nimz tied a career-high with 11 points, all coming in the first half before foul trouble. Nimz wasn't the only 'Cat to hit a career-high, as Reide Osterman recorded 10 points, all in the final quarter, on 4-6 shooting with a pair of threes. Jacy Weisbrod chipped in 11 of her own backed by three triples. 

The 82 points was the second best output for Northern this season. The 'Cats shot 32-70 (45.7%) from the field while holding Quincy to 21-59 (35.6%). NMU forced the Hawks into 18 turnovers while only giving the ball up eight times themselves, leading to a 21-7 tripling in points off turnovers. NMU also dominated off the bench, with 42 points coming from the reserve unit. 

Northern had the helping hand in full effect throughout the contest, assisting 19 times, one off of their season-high. Eight Wildcats recorded an assist, with Mackenzie Holzwart's six and Braelyn Torres' four leading the way.  

The 'Cats improve to 7-3 on the season with the victory, while dropping the Hawks to 4-8.
 







Choose team:
No schedule entries



JACY GOES OFF! NMU Women Win NCAA Opener
Saturday March 16, 2024
NMU Ladies Push Past Ferris; #1 Grand Valley Next
Saturday March 9, 2024
Northern Women Beat Davenport; Honor Seniors
Sunday March 3, 2024
OH, SO CLOSE: Wildcat Ladies Fall To No. 2 Lakers
Friday March 1, 2024
NMU Women Rally In Detroit; Clinch Home Playoff
Saturday February 24, 2024
RIVALRY REVENGE: Northern Shuts Down Tech
Saturday February 17, 2024
Kuhn Double-Double Helps 'Cats Beat UW-Parkside
Thursday February 8, 2024
Weisbrod, Kuhn Lead NMU Past Lake State, 73-50
Saturday February 3, 2024
Rough Third Quarter Dooms NMU At Ferris State
Friday February 2, 2024
BIG ROAD WIN: NMU Ladies Upset UW-Parkside
Saturday January 20, 2024
Weisbrod Career-High Leads Northern Past Pride
Friday January 19, 2024
HISTORY! Kuhn Becomes Northern Scoring Leader
Thursday January 11, 2024
NMU Ladies Roll Past Davenport With 23-0 Spurt
Thursday January 4, 2024
Wildcat Women Clamp Down On Northwood, 68-43
Wednesday December 20, 2023
Kuhn Drops 30 As 'Cats Earn GLIAC-Opening Win
Thursday December 7, 2023
NMU Women's Basketball Loses Two In Minnesota
Sunday November 26, 2023
OH, SO CLOSE: Wildcat Ladies Fall To #1 Ashand
Wednesday November 22, 2023
4-0 START: Wildcat Women Pull Away Late, 74-53
Saturday November 18, 2023
NMU Women's Basketball Gets Sweep At Crossover
Sunday November 12, 2023
NMU Ladies Compete Hard Against UW-Green Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2023