• HS Boys BB 2/24: Maplewood Baptist 74, Hannahville 60
  • HS Hockey 2/24: Houghton 4, Calumet 1
  • HS Hockey 2/24: Hancock 6, Painesdale-Jeffers 4
  • HS Girls BB 2/24: Maplewood Baptist 43, Big Bay deNoc 36
5850 articles
Monday February 26, 2024
Norse Extend Winning Streak With Tourney Sweep

Click the thumbnails to see photos and videos, and to listen to radio interviews.

IRONWOOD---
The Bay College men's basketball team improved to 6-0 on the season with a pair of wins over the weekend at the Lindquist Classic hosted by Gogebic Community College in Ironwood. The Norse beat Vermillion (Minn.) College, 98-75, then turned back the host GCC Samsons, 78-52. Bay used all of its players in both easy victories.


Ryan Sweeney was named the MCCAA Northern Conference Player of the Week after he helped lead the Norse to a pair of wins over the weekend. Bay beat Vermilion on Saturday by a final score of 98-75.  Sweeney scored a team high 28 points on 13 of 16 shooting. He also had seven assists, three rebounds, and two steals.


On Sunday, Sweeney was at it again as he helped push Bay past the host school by a final of 78-52. He ended up with 17 points, four rebounds, four assists, and two steals in that contest.

For the weekend Sweeney was 20 of 28 from the field, which was good for a remarkable 71.4% from the field. 


The two victories kept Bay College undefeated on the young season, making it their sixth win in a row.  They will be put to the test on Saturday as they host the #9 ranked Milwaukee Area Technical College.  That game will follow the women and is scheduled for a 3 pm tipoff.


---MORE---









Choose team:
No schedule entries



CHAMPS AGAIN! Norse Slip Past Pioneers, 77-64
Sunday February 25, 2024
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Crush Kirtland; Now 25-2
Thursday February 22, 2024
Norse Men Rally Past Muskegon; Close In On Title
Monday February 19, 2024
SURVIVAL MODE: Norse Fend Off Alpena On Road
Friday February 16, 2024
Norse Cruise Past Grand Rapids; Stay Undefeated
Sunday February 11, 2024
20-2: Norse Beat Lakers; Tighten Grip On 1st Place
Saturday February 3, 2024
Norse Streak Past Kirtland; Mid-Michigan Up Next
Thursday February 1, 2024
STILL ON TOP: Bay College Men Dominate Delta
Saturday January 27, 2024
BIG ESCAPE: Norse Men Pull Out Win Over Alpena
Thursday January 25, 2024
Bay College Men Coast Past Grand Rapids, 88-78
Monday January 22, 2024
Late Rally Helps Norse Basketball Stay Undefeated
Sunday January 21, 2024
GUARDS RULE: Norse Trio Overwhelm Chaparrals
Monday January 1, 2024
JUST ENOUGH: Lethargic Norse Rally For 11th Win
Friday December 29, 2023
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Smack Gogebic; Now 10-1
Tuesday December 19, 2023
KABOOM! Norse Break Century Mark In Home Win
Saturday December 16, 2023
Bay Grinds Out Basketball Win Over Morton, 85-78
Saturday December 9, 2023
JUST BARELY: Norse Basketball Opens With Sweep
Sunday November 5, 2023
Northern Basketball Grinds Past Bay In Exhibition
Monday October 23, 2023