• LLBB 11-12 States 7/21: Muskegon Roosevelt Park 6, Negaunee 3
  • LLBB 11-12 States 7/21: Bay City Southwest 15, Norway 5
  • LLSB 9-11 States 7/21: Gladstone 16, Sparta 0
  • LLSB 9-11 States 7/21: Grosse Pointe 12, Marquette 1
6006 articles
Monday July 22, 2024
BACK-TO-BACK: Derkos Named U.P.'s Top Player

ESCANABA---The Upper Peninsula Division One Girls Tennis Awards have been announced, and the co-champion Escanaba Eskymos and Negaunee Miners cleaned up the top awards.


Escanaba's Sophia Derkos was named U.P. Player of the Year for a second straight season as she went two straight years without losing one a single match at No. 1 singles. In fact, she pulled that off without losing even one set for both her junior and senior years.


Escanaba Coach Chris Ogren was named Coach of the Year.

Derkos, along with Negaunee's Aubrey Johnson, were named to the All-State Team at No. 1 singles. And in doubles, Escanaba's team of Natalie Williams and Sam Manninen were named All-State, as was the Negaunee duo of Maddie Frustaglio and Kallen Schultz.

Escanaba and Negaunee finished as co-champions at the MHSAA Division One U.P. Finals earlier this month.

The full list of winners, as chosen by the Upper Peninsula coaches, is posted below:

Special Awards
Player of the Year :
Sophia Derkos, Escanaba

Coach of the Year : Chris Ogren, Escanaba

All-State Singles

Sophia Derkos, Escanaba

Aubrey Johnson, Negaunee

All-State Doubles

Natalie Williams/Sam Manninen, Escanaba

Kallen Schultz/Maddie Frustaglio, Negaunee


All-U.P. First Team

Aubrey Johnson, Negaunee

Sophia Derkos, Escanaba

Lexi Olson, Westwood

Lilliana Saunders, Negaunee

Samantha Ruby, Westwood

Kallen Schultz/Maddie Frustaglio, Negaunee

Natalie Williams/Sam Manninen, Escanaba

Montgomery Pepin/Maggie Buckley, Gladstone

Audrey Veale/Libby Vross, Kingsford

Payton Pleaugh/Lexi Hammerstrom, Marquette

Kamryn Olson/Madeline Barker, Menominee

Isabelle Marta/Alyssa Couveau, Westwood

Olivia Lunseth/Sage Juntti, Negaunee

Nolia Dawson/Kaylin Doney, Westwood

All-U.P. Honorable Mention

Tia Schone, Gladstone

Payton Bullock, Marquette

Elena Murphy, Menominee

Addie Trombley, Gladstone

Molly VanDamme, Escanaba

Rheana Nelson, Negaunee

Sam Korpi, Escanaba

Addison Rutter, Kingsford

Sonya Maki/Molly Smale, Escanaba

Choose team:
No schedule entries

ALL TIED UP: Miners, Eskymos Share Tennis Title
Friday October 6, 2023
STATEMENT WIN: Esky Tennis Wins At Westwood
Friday September 22, 2023
ALL TIED UP: Escanaba, Negaunee Settle Nothing
Wednesday September 13, 2023
SHARED RESPECT: Derkos, Schone Meet In Tennis
Tuesday August 22, 2023