• American Legion BB 6/21: Escanaba 9, Plover 7
  • American Legion BB 6/21: Gladstone 8, Niagara 0
  • American Legion BB 6/21: Marquette 12, Saginaw 3
  • American Legion BB 6/21: Norway 7, Copper Country 4
  • American Legion BB 6/21: Norway 13, Eastern U.P. 2
5971 articles
Tuesday June 25, 2024
Bay College Men's Basketball Players Earn Honors

PORT HURON---The Bay College Norse men's basketball team is reaping the awards of its historic first season in the Michigan Community College Athletic Association as the MCCAA released its post-season awards list on Wednesday.

 

The Norse ran the table in conference play, going 14-0 and taking the North Conference championship, and Bay finished as MCCAA runners-up after beating Kalamazoo Valley before losing to Henry Ford Community College in the championship game.

 

On Wednesday, the Norse had several players honored by the MCCAA, including point guard Tyrel Creger. The Owatonna, Minn., native was named the North Conference Defensive Player of the Year, as well as the North Conference Freshman of the Year.

 

Creger was also named to the North Conference All-Conference First Team.

 

He started all 32 of Bay's games this winter, averaging 10.8 points, 5.5 rebounds, and 4.3 assists per game. He had nearly double the amount of assists (136) than he had turnovers (73). That while playing more than 28 minutes a game, on average.

 

Sophomore Lamar Grayson was also a First Team All-Conference selection. He played in 30 of Bay's 32 games, and led the team in scoring with 16.6 points per game. Grayson also made 31% of the three-point baskets that he shot, and he added 2.2 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game.

 

In addition to North Conference honors, both Creger and Grayson were named to the NJCAA Region 12 All-Region team. The Norse were regional runners-up, losing to Mott Community College in the championship game.

 

Joining Creger on the All-Freshman team by two of his teammates: Colin Hudson of Escanaba and Genesis Kemp from Grand Rapids. Hudson played in all 32 games, starting 30 of them. Hudson averaged 8.6 points and 3.8 rebounds per game.

 

Kemp, the team's Sixth Man (first off the bench) averaged 12 points and 5.2 rebounds per game. Both Hudson and Kemp were also named to the North Conference Second Team.

 

Two other Norse players were named to the North Conference Third Team: sophomore Justin Nelson of West Iron County, and sophomore Jaylen Flaniken of Detroit. Creger and Nelson were also named to the North Conference All-Defensive Team.

Bay College Head Coach Matt Johnson was named North Conference of the Year as the Norse finished their season with a 26-6 record, the best in school history, along with that 14-0 conference record.
 

 



 

 




 





Bay's Johnson Named Michigan's Top JUCO Coach
Thursday May 18, 2023
DREAM SEASON ENDS: Norse Fall In Title Game
Monday March 13, 2023
Huge Comeback Falls Short For NMU At Regionals
Sunday March 12, 2023
STILL DANCING! NMU Wildcats Upend Hillsdale
Saturday March 11, 2023
BOMBS AWAY: Norse Nail 14 Triples In Playoff Win
Friday March 10, 2023
BUZZ-SAW ALERT: Norse Fall To No. 3 Henry Ford
Tuesday March 7, 2023
Y2K! Wildcats Beat Tech, Win GLIAC Tournament
Sunday March 5, 2023
Norse Rally Past Kalamazoo; No. 3 Henry Ford Next
Saturday March 4, 2023
Wildcats Grind Past Saginaw; Advance To Semifinal
Thursday March 2, 2023
ON TOP OF THE WORLD: Bay Wins Championship
Wednesday March 1, 2023
Northern Men Close Season With Win; Women Fall
Monday February 27, 2023
STILL ROLLING: Norse One Win Away From Title
Sunday February 26, 2023
STILL ON TOP: Norse Men Hold Off Kirtland, 74-71
Thursday February 23, 2023
DEPTH WINS: Norse Beat Nash, Muskegon, 74-55
Monday February 20, 2023
TAKING CARE OF BUSINESS: Norse Beat Alpena
Friday February 17, 2023
STILL ROLLING: Norse Blitz Grand Rapids, 99-72
Sunday February 12, 2023
HOLDING SERVE: Norse Stay Atop North Division
Thursday February 9, 2023
PASSING THE TEST: Bay Wins Battle Of Unbeatens
Monday February 6, 2023
BOUNCING BACK: Wildcats Shoot Past Cardinals
Friday February 3, 2023
Bay Men Set Up Mid-Season Showdown With Win
Thursday February 2, 2023
ALL-OUT WAR: Norse Men Survive Physical Battle
Monday January 30, 2023
NMU Basketball Teams Fall To Ferris St. On Road
Saturday January 28, 2023
MILESTONE WINNER: Bay Rolls Alpena For 100th
Thursday January 26, 2023
Lamar Grayson Named Conference Player Of Week
Tuesday January 24, 2023
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Smack Muskegon, 90-56
Sunday January 22, 2023
NMU Basketball Winning Streak Snapped By GVSU
Thursday January 19, 2023
'GREAT TEAM EFFORT': Norse Top Timberwolves
Thursday January 19, 2023
GK GOES OFF IN GR: Kemp Leads Norse To Win
Sunday January 15, 2023
RIVALRY ROUT: Wildcats Roll Past Michigan Tech
Saturday January 14, 2023
Bay Wraps Up Non-Conference Schedule With Win
Thursday January 12, 2023
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Battle; Fall To Panthers Again
Sunday January 8, 2023
NMU Men's Basketball Completes 3-0 Road Trip
Saturday January 7, 2023
Norse Lose Tight Battle At End To Palm Beach State
Friday January 6, 2023
Weisbrod Scores 26; Shorthanded 'Cats Win In OT
Thursday January 5, 2023
FRESHMEN RULE: Wildcats Take Down NU, 81-52
Monday January 2, 2023
Bay College's Creger Earns MCCAA Player Of Week
Tuesday December 20, 2022
HOLY SMOKES! Wildcats Rout Finlandia U, 125-50
Sunday December 18, 2022
GRINDING IT OUT: Norse Men Earn Two Victories
Saturday December 17, 2022
NMU Basketball Team Overpowers D-III Lawrence
Wednesday December 14, 2022
Norse Men Lose To Third Ranked Milwaukee Tech
Tuesday December 13, 2022
Northern Michigan Men Smack Lake Superior State
Sunday December 11, 2022
Michigan Tech Gets Last-Second Win Over Ferris St
Sunday December 11, 2022
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Bay Comes Up Short, 69-67
Sunday December 4, 2022
NMU Men Rally In Second Half To Beat Purdue NW
Thursday December 1, 2022
Bay Coasts Past Vermillion To Earn Weekend Sweep
Monday November 28, 2022
UPSET CITY: Wildcats Push Past 14-Ranked Duluth
Sunday November 27, 2022
Bay College Basketball Crushes Hibbing Cardinals
Saturday November 26, 2022
Gogebic Samsons Grind Past Vermillion Ironhawks
Saturday November 26, 2022
Bjorklund, Parzych Lead NMU To Two Home Wins
Friday November 18, 2022
Bay College Basketball Sweeps Weekend; Now 4-0
Sunday November 13, 2022
STRONG START: Bay College Men Topple Gogebic
Sunday November 6, 2022