• HS Baseball 4/23: Kingsford 6, Marquette 2
  • HS Baseball 4/23: Norway 15, North Central 0
  • HS Softball 4/23: Gladstone 10, Menominee 0
  • HS Softball 4/23: Negaunee 5, Escanaba 1
  • HS Softball 4/23: Calumet 15, Kingsford 3
  • HS Baseball 4/23: Negaunee 3, Hancock 2
  • HS Softball 4/23: Norway 9, North Dickinson 5
  • HS Softball 4/23: Sault Ste. Marie 20, Marquette 10
5910 articles
Wednesday April 24, 2024
Bay College's Creger Earns MCCAA Player Of Week

This story was written by Bay College SID Mike Pankow.

ESCANABA, MI –
Bay College's Tyrel Creger has been named the MCCAA Northern Conference Player of the Week for the week of December 11-18.

"I’m really happy about the player of the week," Creger told RRN Sports. "I’m glad my hard work is paying off and I’m contributing to wins that’s the most important part. Couldn’t do it without the Lord."

The Norse started out their week at Milwaukee Area Technical College.  The Stormers were ranked at #7 in the NJCAA Division 2 poll that came out on that day.  Creger (FR, Owatonna, MN) scored eight points, collected seven rebounds, and had six assists in an 89-70 loss on the road.

Creger and the Norse were forced into an undesirable position this past weekend.  Weather prevented one of the teams from attending the Winter Classic hosted at Bay College.  Due to the last-minute nature of the cancellation, and in order for all three teams to play twice, Bay decided to play two games in one day.

In the early game on Saturday Creger helped lead the Norse to an 82-37 victory over Gogebic Community College.  Tyrel ended up with nine points, five rebounds, and two assists.  A few hours later the Norse and Creger were back on the floor to face Oakland Community College.  He ended up scoring 14 points, grabbing six rebounds, to go with one assist and two steals.

For the week Tyrel averaged 10.3 points per game, six rebounds per game, 3 assists per game, and 1.3 steals per game.

Creger is the first Men's Basketball player to receive an MCCAA weekly honor in program history.

The Norse are in their first season as a member of the Michigan Community College Athletic Association.


Choose team:
No schedule entries



Bay's Johnson Named Michigan's Top JUCO Coach
Thursday May 18, 2023
DREAM SEASON ENDS: Norse Fall In Title Game
Monday March 13, 2023
BUZZ-SAW ALERT: Norse Fall To No. 3 Henry Ford
Tuesday March 7, 2023
Norse Rally Past Kalamazoo; No. 3 Henry Ford Next
Saturday March 4, 2023
ON TOP OF THE WORLD: Bay Wins Championship
Wednesday March 1, 2023
STILL ROLLING: Norse One Win Away From Title
Sunday February 26, 2023
STILL ON TOP: Norse Men Hold Off Kirtland, 74-71
Thursday February 23, 2023
DEPTH WINS: Norse Beat Nash, Muskegon, 74-55
Monday February 20, 2023
TAKING CARE OF BUSINESS: Norse Beat Alpena
Friday February 17, 2023
STILL ROLLING: Norse Blitz Grand Rapids, 99-72
Sunday February 12, 2023
HOLDING SERVE: Norse Stay Atop North Division
Thursday February 9, 2023
PASSING THE TEST: Bay Wins Battle Of Unbeatens
Monday February 6, 2023
Bay Men Set Up Mid-Season Showdown With Win
Thursday February 2, 2023
ALL-OUT WAR: Norse Men Survive Physical Battle
Monday January 30, 2023
MILESTONE WINNER: Bay Rolls Alpena For 100th
Thursday January 26, 2023
Lamar Grayson Named Conference Player Of Week
Tuesday January 24, 2023
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Smack Muskegon, 90-56
Sunday January 22, 2023
'GREAT TEAM EFFORT': Norse Top Timberwolves
Thursday January 19, 2023
GK GOES OFF IN GR: Kemp Leads Norse To Win
Sunday January 15, 2023
Bay Wraps Up Non-Conference Schedule With Win
Thursday January 12, 2023
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Battle; Fall To Panthers Again
Sunday January 8, 2023
Norse Lose Tight Battle At End To Palm Beach State
Friday January 6, 2023
GRINDING IT OUT: Norse Men Earn Two Victories
Saturday December 17, 2022
Norse Men Lose To Third Ranked Milwaukee Tech
Tuesday December 13, 2022
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Bay Comes Up Short, 69-67
Sunday December 4, 2022
Bay Coasts Past Vermillion To Earn Weekend Sweep
Monday November 28, 2022
Bay College Basketball Crushes Hibbing Cardinals
Saturday November 26, 2022
Bay College Basketball Sweeps Weekend; Now 4-0
Sunday November 13, 2022
STRONG START: Bay College Men Topple Gogebic
Sunday November 6, 2022