• LLBB 11-12 States 7/21: Muskegon Roosevelt Park 6, Negaunee 3
  • LLBB 11-12 States 7/21: Bay City Southwest 15, Norway 5
  • LLSB 9-11 States 7/21: Gladstone 16, Sparta 0
  • LLSB 9-11 States 7/21: Grosse Pointe 12, Marquette 1
6006 articles
Monday July 22, 2024
Michigan Tech Outlasts NMU To Earn Series Split

This story was written by MIchigan Tech Athletics

HOUGHTON, Mich. – 
Ryland Mosley scored a pair of goals to break a 1-1 tie and lift No. 18 Michigan Tech to a 3-1 victory over Northern Michigan Saturday in front of a sold-out crowd at the MacInnes Student Ice Arena.

The Huskies improved to 10-4-3 overall and 6-3-3 in the CCHA.


"I really couldn't be happier with how we played from the goaltender on out tonight and how we played in the third period," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "It was a great college hockey game and weekend. The atmosphere and quality of play were excellent at both buildings."


Ryland Mosley
 scored the game-winning goal 13:29 into the second period with a quick wrist shot over the blocker of the goaltender. He is tied for the nation's lead after his fourth game-winning goal of the season. Topi Heiskanen assisted on the play.


10:44 into the third period, the Huskies finally broke through on their sixth power play of the night when Ryland Mosley ripped another wrist shot over the blocker for his team-leading ninth goal of the season from Evan Orr and Brett Thorne. It was the first collegiate point for Orr.


Tech ate up the clock with a late power play before NMU pulled its goaltender with 39 seconds left. The Huskies had a pair of full-ice chances at the open net but neither team found a late goal.


"I wanted to take a big step this year with all the guys that left last year," Mosley, who is second in the CCHA with 19 points, said. "I had a good summer here and at home. It really helped my growth coming in halfway through the year a couple seasons ago."


Tyrone Bronte
 opened scoring with his first of the season 5:16 into the second period. He blasted in a loose puck after his linemates worked to create a turnover. Nick Nardella was credited with the assist on Bronte's sixth career goal.


Bronte described his goal, "I turned to skate up ice and I found myself in the middle. The puck was creeping toward me, so I closed my eyes and hit it as hard as I could.


"It was an unbelievable team effort tonight and the results speak for themselves."

NMU (10-8-0, 6-4-0 CCHA) tied the game 8:00 into the second with a power play goal credited to David Keefer. The play was reviewed for goaltender interference but the call stood.


Tech dominated in shots 47-25. Blake Pietila made 24 saves, including a chance on a shorthanded breakaway in the third. Beni Halasz stopped 44 shots for Northern.


The Huskies were 1-for-7 on the power play and 3-for-4 on the penalty after the teams combined for 35 minutes of penalties.


Choose team:
No schedule entries



NMU Hockey Adds Spratt As New Assistant Coach
Tuesday July 11, 2023
Northern Michigan Releases 2023-'24 Hockey Sked
Friday May 5, 2023
SEASON OVER: Tech Flattened By Penn State, 8-0
Friday March 24, 2023
CRUSHING DEFEAT: 'Cats Can't Hold Late Lead
Saturday March 18, 2023
SURVIVE & ADVANCE: 'Cats Eliminate Bemidji St.
Sunday March 5, 2023
Wildcats Win CCHA Playoff Opener Over Bemidji
Saturday March 4, 2023
COMEBACK KIDS! 'Cats Clinch Playoff Home Ice
Monday February 27, 2023
CLEANING HOUSE: Three 'Cats Get CCHA Honors
Tuesday February 21, 2023
CATS CLAW DOGS: Northern Punishes Ferris State
Friday February 17, 2023
BENI GOOSE EGG: Wildcats Pick Up Road Victory
Saturday February 11, 2023
Wildcats Top Lake State To Win Cappo Cup Series
Sunday February 5, 2023
ANOTHER GOOSE EGG: Pietila Blanks Bemidji St.
Friday February 3, 2023
Michigan Tech Completes Hockey Sweep Of NMU
Sunday January 29, 2023
Tech's Pietila Boys Celebate Birthday With 3-0 Win
Friday January 27, 2023
NMU Hockey Wins; Salvages Series Split In Bemidji
Saturday January 21, 2023
Northern Hockey Swept By Mankato State At Home
Saturday January 7, 2023
OVERTIME WINNER: Tech Rallies Past Spartans
Thursday December 29, 2022
NMU Hockey Heads Into Holiday Break With Split
Saturday December 10, 2022
OVERTIME WINNER: Wildcats Rally Past Huskies
Friday December 2, 2022
CAPTAIN CLUTCH: Vanderbeck Goals Equal Upset
Friday November 18, 2022
Northern Drops Saturday Game; Settles For Split
Saturday November 12, 2022
U.P. SWEEP! Wildcats Rally Past Lake Superior, 5-3
Saturday November 5, 2022
HOCKEY SPLIT: NMU, Alaska Each Settle For One
Saturday October 29, 2022
Wildcats Erupt In 9-1 Rout Over Alaska-Anchorage
Friday October 21, 2022
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Wildcats Battle Notre Dame
Sunday October 16, 2022
NMU Wildcat Hockey Drops Opener At Notre Dame
Friday October 14, 2022
LONG ROAD TRIP: NMU Hockey Sweeps Colgate
Sunday October 9, 2022
Vanderbeck Leads Northern To Last-Minute Victory
Friday October 7, 2022
Wildcats Get Series Split With Vanderbeck OT Goal
Sunday October 2, 2022