• American Legion States 7/29: Escanaba 6, Clinton 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Gladstone 9, Gaylord 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Trenton 12, Marquette 1
5137 articles
Wednesday August 17, 2022
WALK OFF: Peacock Helps Cubs Beat Indians, 7-6

ESCANABA---Lennox Peacock smacked a walk-off base hit to right field to lead the Escanaba Cubs American Legion baseball team to an exciting 7-6 win over the Gladstone Indians Friday night at Al Ness Field. Peacock, the Cubs' youngest player at just 14 years old, also earned the win on the mound as he relieved Bon LaChance in the top of the seventh inning.

"I had two strikes on me, and (second baseman) Nick Kolich popped right into my head," Peacock said. "Before the game, we were working in the cage and working on hitting opposite-field on an outside pitch. That's exactly what I did. I took it opposite field, and it was one of the best feelings ever when I saw Ben (Johnson) sliding safe."

Johnson had slugged an RBI single before Peacock's at-bat to tie the game.

In the top of the seventh inning, Gladstone's Eli Terrien came through with an RBI single that gave Gladstone a 6-5 lead after a wild sixth inning had seen both teams score unearned runs.

"It's just, put the ball in play, and try to hit it hard," Johnson said. "That was my goal."

Gladstone Manager Scott Kwarciany reminded his boys after the game to "keep your eyes on the prize", meaning the U.P. zone finals and a possible trip to the state finals.

"It was two baseball teams that competed it out," he said. "Teams made mistakes, but mistakes didn't decide the outcome of this game in the end. There was good hitting. Both teams. We got a clutch hit to get a lead. and they got two clutch hits at the end. We can't complain. Our kids can hold our heads high after this game and move on."

Aedan Creten, who came on in relief of Travis Mack in the sixth inning, took the loss for Gladstone. Peacock, who relieved Bon LaChance in the final inning, was credited with the win.

Escanaba improved to 6-5 on the season heading into the holiday weekend. Gladstone fell to 6-7-1.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Escanaba Finishes State Runners-Up; Blues Third
Saturday July 30, 2022
Escanaba Cubs Beat Clinton, Gladstone In Trenton
Friday July 29, 2022
Escanaba, Gladstone Fall In State Tourney Openers
Thursday July 28, 2022
Escanaba Cubs Make First State Tourney Since 2016
Saturday July 23, 2022
Gladstone Falls One Game Short in Semifinal Loss
Saturday July 23, 2022
American Legion Zone Five Tournament Kicks Off
Friday July 22, 2022
Kingsford Blues Sweep Doubleheader In Gladstone
Wednesday July 20, 2022
Kingsford Wins Junior Legion Title Over Marquette
Sunday July 17, 2022
MACK ON TRACK: Indians Cruise Past Red Wave
Thursday July 14, 2022
Kolich, Chiu Lead Esky Cubs Past Marquette Blues
Wednesday July 13, 2022
Kaven's Career Night Leads Cubs Past Indians, 13-4
Tuesday July 12, 2022
Escanaba, Menominee Wrap Up Legion Road Trip
Sunday July 10, 2022
Escanaba, Menominee Split Two in Lower Michigan
Saturday July 9, 2022
Gladstone Indians Lose Two At Antigo Tournament
Saturday July 9, 2022
Lancour, Cubs Outlast Gaylord For Downstate Win
Saturday July 9, 2022
Indians Honor '19 Title Team; Beat Red Wave, 9-5
Wednesday July 6, 2022
Escanaba Cubs Roll Past Iron Mountain Golds 12-2
Thursday June 30, 2022
Mistake-Prone Gladstone Indians Fall In Wisconsin
Thursday June 30, 2022
Gladstone Indians Earn 7-4 Victory In Wisconsin
Wednesday June 29, 2022
ROUGH WEEKEND: Esky Cubs Go 1-3 In Marinette
Sunday June 26, 2022
Gladstone Indians Take Two In Firecracker Tourney
Sunday June 26, 2022
Wisconsin Teams Rule On First Day Of Firecracker
Friday June 24, 2022
Final Four Set For Delta County Legion Tournament
Saturday June 18, 2022
Golds, Flames, Marinette Go 2-0 On Opening Day
Friday June 17, 2022
Gladstone Edges Escanaba in Tournament Opener
Thursday June 16, 2022