• HS Girls Basketball 12/3: Gwinn 41, Brimley 31
  • HS Girls Basketball 12/3: Escanaba 50, McBain 42
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Marquette 9, Midland Dow 0
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Kingsford 3, Cheboygan 0
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Negaunee 11, Monroe Catholic Central 4
  • College Hockey 12/3: Michigan Tech 3, Northern Michigan 1
  • College Basketball 12/3: Dakota County (Minn) 69, Bay College 67
5312 articles
Tuesday December 6, 2022
SIX IN A ROW: Wildcats Sprint Past LSSU Lakers

Click the AUDIO thumbnails to hear Coach Matt Majrzak post-game comments, and hear Justin Kuehl player spotlight interview.

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. -
The Northern Michigan University Men's basketball team extended their winning streak to six games at Lake Superior State on Thursday, picking up a 102-69 victory.

The Green and Gold asserted themselves from three-point land early and often, connecting on 17 triples throughout the bout. It was one shy of tying the program record.

Northern improved to 15-11 on the campaign and 11-8 in the GLIAC.

NMU led, 48-34, at the half, and after Lake State closed to within 48-41, Wagner nailed his fourth triple of the night to start another run.

In all, NMU connected on 17 triples in the contest, one shy of tying the program record set in 2006-07 (vs. UW-Stout).

John Kerr (22), Max Bjorklund (21), and Wagner (20) all scored 20-plus for NMU. Kerr had a double-double with 22 points and 11 rebounds.

Ben Wolf also registered a double-double with 16 points and 10 rebounds.

Bjorklund led the team with six assists while Brian Parzych added four off the bench.

Eight Wildcats hit a three-pointer, led by Bjorklund with six and Wagner with five.

Malek Adams had 14 points for LSSU. David Wren added 13.

The Wildcats are now in a four-way tie for third place in the GLIAC (11-8, with LSSU, Grand Valley and Saginaw Valley), and they will head to Big Rapids to conclude the regular season as they'll take on the first place Ferris State Bulldogs on Saturday. Tip-off is schedule for 3 p.m.





Choose team:
No schedule entries



NMU Wildcats Introduce Incoming Basketball Class
Monday August 1, 2022
NMU, Tech Basketball Teams Earn Academic Award
Tuesday July 19, 2022
NMU Basketball Playoff Run Ends In GLIAC Finals
Sunday March 6, 2022
THIRD TIME CHARM: Wildcats Beat Huskies 78-71
Saturday March 5, 2022
LONG NIGHT, SWEET NIGHT! Wildcats Move On
Thursday March 3, 2022
MAX EN FUEGO: Bjorklund's Big Day Boosts 'Cats
Saturday February 26, 2022
SENIORS SHINE! Wildcats Complete Big Weekend
Saturday February 19, 2022
DOUBLE DUB: Wildcat Hoops Sweep Davenport
Saturday February 12, 2022
NMU Men's Basketball Wins Over Grand Valley St.
Thursday February 10, 2022
NMU Men's Basketball Wins On Road; Women Fall
Saturday February 5, 2022
Northern Michigan Basketball Teams Fall To UWP
Thursday February 3, 2022
NMU Basketball Drops Tight Game To Tech, 64-62
Monday January 31, 2022
NMU Basketball Opens Homestand With 91-79 Win
Thursday January 20, 2022
Kerr Goes Wild As Wildcats Pick Up Win In Detroit
Saturday January 15, 2022
DOWN TO THE WIRE: 'Cats Fall In Saginaw, 87-85
Thursday January 13, 2022
Wildcats Pick Up 1st GLIAC Basketball Win, 90-59
Thursday January 6, 2022
DOMINATING EFFORT: 'Cats Roll Past Finlandia
Sunday January 2, 2022
NMU Men's Basketball Drops Two Games At Home
Sunday November 28, 2021
NMU Men's Basketball Team Rolls To Sunday Win
Monday November 22, 2021
NMU Sweeps Bay College In Basketball Exhibitions
Thursday October 28, 2021