• American Legion States 7/29: Escanaba 6, Clinton 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Gladstone 9, Gaylord 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Trenton 12, Marquette 1
5137 articles
Wednesday August 17, 2022
Northern Michigan Basketball Teams Fall To UWP

The Northern Michigan University basketball teams dropped a pair of games Thursday night on the road at Wisconsin-Parkside. The women lost, 73-52, and the men fell, 75-68.

Click the AUDIO buttons to hear interviews with Alyssa Nimz and Brian Parzych. (UW-Parkside photo)

WOMEN'S GAME RECAP WRITTEN BY NMU SPORTS INFORMATION

KENOSHA, Wis. 
- The Northern Michigan University Women's basketball team took the trip to Kenosha, Wisconsin, where the Parkside Rangers used efficient three-point shooting to down the 'Cats 73-52 on Thursday (Feb. 3).

Parkside improves to 10-11, 7-6 in the GLIAC while NMU falls to 8-10 and 3-8 in GLIAC play. 
  • Kayla Tierney led NMU with 12 points, connecting on four of seven attempts from beyond the three-point line. 
  • Makaylee Kuhn led the 'Cats on the boards with six. Kuhn also reached double figures with 11 points. 
  • Parkside had the hot-hand from deep all night, converting on 14 three-pointers. 
  • Northern shot 20-58 (34.5%) from the field while the Rangers shot 26-61 (42.6%).

The Wildcats will head over to Hammond, Indiana for a Saturday matchup with the Purdue Northwest Pride. Tip-off is slated for 2 p.m. 

MEN'S GAME RECAP WRITTEN BY NMU SPORTS INFORMATION

 KENOSHA, Wis. -
The Northern Michigan University Men's basketball team dropped a 75-68 road contest at Wisconsin-Parkside on Thursday (Feb. 3).

NMU fell to 9-11, 5-8 in the GLIAC while Parkside improved to 11-9 overall and a 8-5 record in the conference. 
Parkside found rhythm on their offensive end, grabbing their largest lead at 49-43 eight minutes into the second half. 

Nick Wagner scored his first points on a corner three followed by a Justin Brookens jumper to quickly get the deficit back to one point at the second media timeout. 

The Rangers continued to stay hot on offense, stretching their lead to 61-52 with seven minutes to play. 

Justin Brookens knocked down a triple from the top of the key, making it a 64-57 game. 

Foul trouble hurt the Wildcats down the stretch as the Rangers got to the line often, converting their opportunities and claiming a 75-68 victory over NMU. 

The Wildcats will make the trip to Hammond, Indiana for a Saturday matchup with the Purdue Northwest Pride. Game time is scheduled for 4 p.m.





Choose team:
No schedule entries



NMU Wildcats Introduce Incoming Basketball Class
Monday August 1, 2022
NMU, Tech Basketball Teams Earn Academic Award
Tuesday July 19, 2022
NMU Basketball Playoff Run Ends In GLIAC Finals
Sunday March 6, 2022
THIRD TIME CHARM: Wildcats Beat Huskies 78-71
Saturday March 5, 2022
LONG NIGHT, SWEET NIGHT! Wildcats Move On
Thursday March 3, 2022
MAX EN FUEGO: Bjorklund's Big Day Boosts 'Cats
Saturday February 26, 2022
SIX IN A ROW: Wildcats Sprint Past LSSU Lakers
Thursday February 24, 2022
SENIORS SHINE! Wildcats Complete Big Weekend
Saturday February 19, 2022
DOUBLE DUB: Wildcat Hoops Sweep Davenport
Saturday February 12, 2022
NMU Men's Basketball Wins Over Grand Valley St.
Thursday February 10, 2022
NMU Men's Basketball Wins On Road; Women Fall
Saturday February 5, 2022
NMU Basketball Drops Tight Game To Tech, 64-62
Monday January 31, 2022
NMU Basketball Opens Homestand With 91-79 Win
Thursday January 20, 2022
Kerr Goes Wild As Wildcats Pick Up Win In Detroit
Saturday January 15, 2022
DOWN TO THE WIRE: 'Cats Fall In Saginaw, 87-85
Thursday January 13, 2022
Wildcats Pick Up 1st GLIAC Basketball Win, 90-59
Thursday January 6, 2022
DOMINATING EFFORT: 'Cats Roll Past Finlandia
Sunday January 2, 2022
NMU Men's Basketball Drops Two Games At Home
Sunday November 28, 2021
NMU Men's Basketball Team Rolls To Sunday Win
Monday November 22, 2021
NMU Sweeps Bay College In Basketball Exhibitions
Thursday October 28, 2021