• American Legion States 7/29: Escanaba 6, Clinton 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Gladstone 9, Gaylord 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Trenton 12, Marquette 1
5137 articles
Wednesday August 17, 2022
Bay College Men Blow Past LSSU Jr. Lakers, 112-76

Click the thumbnails for photos and videos. Also click the AUDIO buttons for comments from Gavin Gothard and Coach Matt Johnson.

SAULT STE. MARIE---
The Bay College Norse men’s basketball team overcame some hot three-point shooting from the Lake Superior State University Junior Lakers Monday night, pulling away for a 112-76 win at the Bud Cooper Gymnasium.

The Norse had beat the junior Lakers by 99 points earlier this season in Escanaba, but LSSU had three members of its varsity team in the line-up for this one.

Two of them, Blake Cassidy and Ben Patrick, both knocked down three-pointer after three-pointer, especially in the first half, as the junior Lakers stayed within 52-41 at halftime.

Cassidy had five triples in the first half, and Patrick had two (plus two long two-point jumpers).

But Bay had more than enough offense, routinely attacking the rim and dominating in the rebounding department. Lamar Grayson and Jaylen Flaniken both had eight points in that first half, and Justin Nelson had ten points (including two slam dunks).

In the second half, the Norse started “face-guarding” Cassidy and Patrick, which slowed down their scoring. They both ended up with 22 points for the game.

Norse Coach Matt Johnson substituted freely in the second half, and all 14 Norse players on the active roster scored at least two points.

Davin Hill made three triples in the second half, including a very deep one near the volleyball line. He had 11 points. Aloung Kang was a beast inside, scoring ten points in the second half alone.

Marcus Harris, playing 15 minutes from his hometown of Brimley, scored eight points. Tre Burris chipped in with nine points, plus a sweet blocked shot on defense that negated a Cassidy breakaway dunk attempt.

LSSU got ten points from Jayden Perry but the junior Lakers, playing just their third game of the season (0-3) couldn’t keep up.

The Norse (14-8) got five players in double figures in scoring: Joc Overstreet, Nelson, and Kang all scored 14 points. Flaniken chipped in 13 points while Hill and Lamar Grayson both contributed eleven.

For LSSU, besides Cassidy and Patrick’s 22 points apiece, Perry had 12 and Neil O’Brien scored eight before fouling out.

Bay College will play on the road again Saturday at 3:00 against Alpena Community College, before playing their final regular season home game next Wednesday against Gogebic Community College at 6:00.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Bay College Announces 2021-2022 Award Winners
Wednesday May 18, 2022
END OF THE LINE: Norse Fall In Regional Semis
Saturday February 26, 2022
Norse Men Can't Keep Up With 12th-Ranked Triton
Sunday February 13, 2022
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Overpower Lake County
Friday February 11, 2022
Big Gogebic Samsons Rally Stuns Bay College, 61-56
Wednesday February 9, 2022
Bay College Men Drop Alpena For 3rd Straight Win
Saturday February 5, 2022
Norse Men Shake Off Rust, Outlast Finlandia, 71-67
Saturday January 29, 2022
Norse Showdown With DCTC Abruptly Postponed
Monday January 24, 2022
SO CLOSE! Norse Men Nearly Upset No. 1 Bulldogs
Saturday January 15, 2022
Bay College Snaps Losing Skid With Road Victory
Wednesday January 12, 2022
Shorthanded Norse Battle, Fall To Madison In OT
Friday January 7, 2022
Norse Open '22 With 106-74 Loss To Dakota County
Wednesday January 5, 2022
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Lose 2nd Game In Minnesota
Sunday December 19, 2021
6th-Ranked RCTC Gets Better Of Norse Men Again
Saturday December 18, 2021
Norse Cruise Past Harper; Sunday Game Cancelled
Sunday December 12, 2021
Hudson Helps Norse Rally Past Lumberjacks, 72-66
Wednesday December 8, 2021
MOTOR CITY RALLY: Flaniken, Norse Top Raiders
Saturday December 4, 2021
Rough Start Costs Norse In Loss At Macomb, 70-59
Friday December 3, 2021
RAINING THREES: Bay Men Outshoot Leech Lake
Tuesday November 30, 2021
CRUISE CONTROL: Shorthanded Norse Get Victory
Saturday November 27, 2021
Norse Come Up Short Against Ninth-Ranked MATC
Sunday November 21, 2021
Norse Men Slip Past Harper; Milwaukee Tech Next
Friday November 19, 2021
Bay College Grinds Past Mesabi In All-Norse Battle
Saturday November 13, 2021
HAPPY HOMECOMING: Johnson, Bay Win, 94-67
Friday November 12, 2021
129-30: Bay College Dominates Lake Superior JV's
Monday November 8, 2021
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Hold Off Glen Oaks
Saturday November 6, 2021
OPENING VICTORY: Norse Men Roll Past Kellogg
Friday November 5, 2021
NMU Sweeps Bay College In Basketball Exhibitions
Thursday October 28, 2021