• American Legion States 7/29: Escanaba 6, Clinton 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Gladstone 9, Gaylord 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Trenton 12, Marquette 1
5137 articles
Wednesday August 17, 2022
Norse Open '22 With 106-74 Loss To Dakota County

This story was written by Bay College SID Mike Pankow. Photos and videos by RRN Sports. Click to hea Dewayne Thompson's player spotlight interview and post-game comments from Coach Matt Johnson.

INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN –
The Bay College Norse Men's Basketball Team (11-5) opened up their second semester of play on the road against a Region 13 rival on Wednesday night.  The Blue Knights of Dakota County Technical College (10-5) easily cruised to a 106-74 win.

 

Dakota County set the pace early using transition baskets to start the game on a 13-5 run.  They would hold a lead throughout as the Norse struggled to keep pace.


DeWayne Thompson (FR, St. Paul, MN) finished at the rim to but the lead to nine midway through the first half, but it would be the last time Bay would be that close.  The next time the Norse would score would be a Jacquez Overstreet (FR, Appleton, WI) three-pointer making the score 30-19.


Trevor Heidish (SO, Rosemount, MN) answered back by burying three's on the next two possessions, and moments later Janier Harris (SO, Burnsville, MN) knocked a triple of his own, making the score 40-19 in favor of the Blue Knights.


The deep ball barrage was a apart of a run by the home team in which they scored 19 unanswered points.  By the time the Norse sunk a pair of free throws, the score was 48-21.  

Dakota County held a 53-30 lead at intermission. 
 

Despite their best efforts, the Norse could not slow down the runaway train that was Dakota County Technical College.  
 

Justin Nelson (FR, Iron River, MI) put down a big slam dunk to cut the lead to twenty early in the second half.  Moments later Overstreet nailed a shot from behind the arc making the score 65-46.  Lamar Grayson (FR, Richfield, MN) knocked down a bucket, but the 71-49 score at that point didn't stand.
 

Dakota County took over after that point and ran away with the game.  Seven Blue Knight players scored in double-digits, and they would take the 106-74 victory on their home court.
 

Grayson led the Norse with 16 points.  Nelson and Thompson each ended the game with 12 points, while Overstreet hit three three-pointers and ended with 11 points.
 

Malik Spearman (SO, West St. Paul, MN) led all scorers with 19 points.  Harris hurt the Norse with 18 points, while Manny Montgomery (SO, Bloomington, MN) was able to put up 14 points.  Heidish and Dontray Johnson (FR, Red Wing, MN) each scored 11 points, , while Jayden Lane (FR, Cottage Grove, MN) added ten.
 

The Norse will look forward to hosting this weekend as they welcome Madison College on Friday evening for the first ever meeting between the two teams.  On Saturday they will face Bryant and Stratton College (WI) for the first time of the year.
 









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Bay College Announces 2021-2022 Award Winners
Wednesday May 18, 2022
END OF THE LINE: Norse Fall In Regional Semis
Saturday February 26, 2022
Norse Men Can't Keep Up With 12th-Ranked Triton
Sunday February 13, 2022
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Overpower Lake County
Friday February 11, 2022
Big Gogebic Samsons Rally Stuns Bay College, 61-56
Wednesday February 9, 2022
Bay College Men Drop Alpena For 3rd Straight Win
Saturday February 5, 2022
Bay College Men Blow Past LSSU Jr. Lakers, 112-76
Tuesday February 1, 2022
Norse Men Shake Off Rust, Outlast Finlandia, 71-67
Saturday January 29, 2022
Norse Showdown With DCTC Abruptly Postponed
Monday January 24, 2022
SO CLOSE! Norse Men Nearly Upset No. 1 Bulldogs
Saturday January 15, 2022
Bay College Snaps Losing Skid With Road Victory
Wednesday January 12, 2022
Shorthanded Norse Battle, Fall To Madison In OT
Friday January 7, 2022
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Lose 2nd Game In Minnesota
Sunday December 19, 2021
6th-Ranked RCTC Gets Better Of Norse Men Again
Saturday December 18, 2021
Norse Cruise Past Harper; Sunday Game Cancelled
Sunday December 12, 2021
Hudson Helps Norse Rally Past Lumberjacks, 72-66
Wednesday December 8, 2021
MOTOR CITY RALLY: Flaniken, Norse Top Raiders
Saturday December 4, 2021
Rough Start Costs Norse In Loss At Macomb, 70-59
Friday December 3, 2021
RAINING THREES: Bay Men Outshoot Leech Lake
Tuesday November 30, 2021
CRUISE CONTROL: Shorthanded Norse Get Victory
Saturday November 27, 2021
Norse Come Up Short Against Ninth-Ranked MATC
Sunday November 21, 2021
Norse Men Slip Past Harper; Milwaukee Tech Next
Friday November 19, 2021
Bay College Grinds Past Mesabi In All-Norse Battle
Saturday November 13, 2021
HAPPY HOMECOMING: Johnson, Bay Win, 94-67
Friday November 12, 2021
129-30: Bay College Dominates Lake Superior JV's
Monday November 8, 2021
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Hold Off Glen Oaks
Saturday November 6, 2021
OPENING VICTORY: Norse Men Roll Past Kellogg
Friday November 5, 2021
NMU Sweeps Bay College In Basketball Exhibitions
Thursday October 28, 2021