• American Legion States 7/29: Escanaba 6, Clinton 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Gladstone 9, Gaylord 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Trenton 12, Marquette 1
5129 articles
Tuesday August 9, 2022
Hudson Helps Norse Rally Past Lumberjacks, 72-66

Click the thumbnails to see photos and videos, hear post-game comments from Coach Matt Johnson, and hear Carter Hudson's halftime interview.

ESCANABA---
The Bay College Norse men’s basketball team rallied from ten points down in the second half to beat the Alpena Community College Lumberjacks, 72-66, Wednesday night in Escanaba. It was the final home game of the 2021 calendar year for the Norse.

Escanaba graduate Carter Hudson scored seven straight points in the second half to give the Norse a lead they would not lose.

Hudson’s three-pointer brought the Norse to within 59-58 with 6:15 left, then after Alpena’s Steve Nicolas scored at the other end, Hudson took a dish from Lamar Grayson under the basket for two, then the next time down the court, Hudson was fouled and knocked down two free throws to give Bay a 62-61 lead.

Grayson’s driving layup put the Norse up, 66-63, and then after a defensive stop, Grayson dished to Diang Gatluak for the slam dunk with 2:09 left to make it 68-63. Gatluak later scored the “icing on the cake” transition bucket, and was fouled, to put the game out of reach at 70-63.

Gatluak had a double-double with 16 points and ten rebounds.

The Norse led throughout the first half, leading by as many as nine at one point before Nick Freel came off the bench to nail three triples for the Lumberjacks. Bay led, 31-26, at halftime.

Alpena dominated the first part of the second half, with Nicolas dunking and 6-6 center Chris DeRocher spinning and scoring inside to complete a 16-4 run, putting the Lumberjacks up, 42-35.

Their biggest lead of the game came at 56-46 before Grayson drained a triple, cutting the gap to 56-52 with 8:15 left. Moments later, Hudson went on his seven-point run to turn the game.

Jaylen Flaniken had 14 points and added eight rebounds. And he had three steals on defense. Grayson finished with 13 points  in his first game back from a two-week injury.

Alpena (2-6) got 16 points from Quay Humphries, while DeRocher added 14 points, five rebounds, and five assists. Nicolas had 13 points and Freel added 11.

Bay (10-2) will be back on the road this weekend with a pair of games in Chicago. They’ll play Harper College on Saturday and Joliet Junior College on Sunday.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Bay College Announces 2021-2022 Award Winners
Wednesday May 18, 2022
END OF THE LINE: Norse Fall In Regional Semis
Saturday February 26, 2022
Norse Men Can't Keep Up With 12th-Ranked Triton
Sunday February 13, 2022
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Overpower Lake County
Friday February 11, 2022
Big Gogebic Samsons Rally Stuns Bay College, 61-56
Wednesday February 9, 2022
Bay College Men Drop Alpena For 3rd Straight Win
Saturday February 5, 2022
Bay College Men Blow Past LSSU Jr. Lakers, 112-76
Tuesday February 1, 2022
Norse Men Shake Off Rust, Outlast Finlandia, 71-67
Saturday January 29, 2022
Norse Showdown With DCTC Abruptly Postponed
Monday January 24, 2022
SO CLOSE! Norse Men Nearly Upset No. 1 Bulldogs
Saturday January 15, 2022
Bay College Snaps Losing Skid With Road Victory
Wednesday January 12, 2022
Shorthanded Norse Battle, Fall To Madison In OT
Friday January 7, 2022
Norse Open '22 With 106-74 Loss To Dakota County
Wednesday January 5, 2022
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Lose 2nd Game In Minnesota
Sunday December 19, 2021
6th-Ranked RCTC Gets Better Of Norse Men Again
Saturday December 18, 2021
Norse Cruise Past Harper; Sunday Game Cancelled
Sunday December 12, 2021
MOTOR CITY RALLY: Flaniken, Norse Top Raiders
Saturday December 4, 2021
Rough Start Costs Norse In Loss At Macomb, 70-59
Friday December 3, 2021
RAINING THREES: Bay Men Outshoot Leech Lake
Tuesday November 30, 2021
CRUISE CONTROL: Shorthanded Norse Get Victory
Saturday November 27, 2021
Norse Come Up Short Against Ninth-Ranked MATC
Sunday November 21, 2021
Norse Men Slip Past Harper; Milwaukee Tech Next
Friday November 19, 2021
Bay College Grinds Past Mesabi In All-Norse Battle
Saturday November 13, 2021
HAPPY HOMECOMING: Johnson, Bay Win, 94-67
Friday November 12, 2021
129-30: Bay College Dominates Lake Superior JV's
Monday November 8, 2021
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Hold Off Glen Oaks
Saturday November 6, 2021
OPENING VICTORY: Norse Men Roll Past Kellogg
Friday November 5, 2021
NMU Sweeps Bay College In Basketball Exhibitions
Thursday October 28, 2021