• American Legion States 7/29: Escanaba 6, Clinton 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Gladstone 9, Gaylord 3
  • American Legion States 7/29: Trenton 12, Marquette 1
5129 articles
Tuesday August 9, 2022
Rough Start Costs Norse In Loss At Macomb, 70-59

Click the thumbnails to see photos and videos. Also click the AUDIO button to hear Jaylen Flaniken's player spotlight ibterview

WARREN, Mich.---The Bay College Norse men’s basketball team fell behind by ten points in the opening minutes of the game and could not get much closer, losing to the Macomb Community College Monarchs, 70-59, Friday night in the Detroit suburb of Warren.

The Monarchs treated themselves to seven slam dunks as they built a 21-point lead and held off a late Norse comeback attempt.

The Norse struggled for consistency all evening. They fell behind, 12-2, before cutting the gap to 20-13 on a slam dunk by Justin Nelson. From there, the Monarchs expanded their lead to 39-24 at halftime, and then scored the first six points of the second half to balloon the lead to 45-24.

Bay went on a 11-0 run to get back into the game, with Diang Gatulak coming from his injury to get an “and-one” basket, and Joc Overstreet came off the bench to drain a triple to bring the Norse to within 45-35.

Overstreet hit two more triples to keep the Norse relatively close at 60-49 with 6:53 to play, but never could get over the hump. Jaylen Flaniken, playing a few miles from his Detroit home, thrilled his large cheering section with ten second half points, including a pair of free throws that brought Bay to within 66-57 with exactly two minutes left to play.

The Norse got a missed free throw on the front end of a one-and-one, and had plenty of time to cut into the nine-point deficit, but threw the ball away seconds later. The Monarchs clinched the game from the foul line, along with the seventh and final of their slam dunks.

Macomb (8-1) had all five starters score in double figures, in fact, the Monarchs only had two points off the bench. They blocked nine Bay shot attempts.

John Ukomadu led Macomb with 18 points, four blocked shots, and three slam dunks. Jaylen Daugherty, who had four of the slam dunks, finished with ten points and ten rebounds.

Jioavnni Miles had 14 points and six assists, while Elijah Belle and Tariq Holmes both had 13 points. Belle contributed eight rebounds.

Bay (8-2) had 14 points and eight rebounds from Gatulak, and 14 points and seven boards from Flaniken.
Overstreet scored eleven points off the bench.

The Norse make the short trip to Oakland Community College on Saturday to face the team coached by former University of Michigan star Antoine Joubert. The tip-off is 3:00 and the game will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 and www.radioresultsnetwork.com.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Bay College Announces 2021-2022 Award Winners
Wednesday May 18, 2022
END OF THE LINE: Norse Fall In Regional Semis
Saturday February 26, 2022
Norse Men Can't Keep Up With 12th-Ranked Triton
Sunday February 13, 2022
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Overpower Lake County
Friday February 11, 2022
Big Gogebic Samsons Rally Stuns Bay College, 61-56
Wednesday February 9, 2022
Bay College Men Drop Alpena For 3rd Straight Win
Saturday February 5, 2022
Bay College Men Blow Past LSSU Jr. Lakers, 112-76
Tuesday February 1, 2022
Norse Men Shake Off Rust, Outlast Finlandia, 71-67
Saturday January 29, 2022
Norse Showdown With DCTC Abruptly Postponed
Monday January 24, 2022
SO CLOSE! Norse Men Nearly Upset No. 1 Bulldogs
Saturday January 15, 2022
Bay College Snaps Losing Skid With Road Victory
Wednesday January 12, 2022
Shorthanded Norse Battle, Fall To Madison In OT
Friday January 7, 2022
Norse Open '22 With 106-74 Loss To Dakota County
Wednesday January 5, 2022
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Lose 2nd Game In Minnesota
Sunday December 19, 2021
6th-Ranked RCTC Gets Better Of Norse Men Again
Saturday December 18, 2021
Norse Cruise Past Harper; Sunday Game Cancelled
Sunday December 12, 2021
Hudson Helps Norse Rally Past Lumberjacks, 72-66
Wednesday December 8, 2021
MOTOR CITY RALLY: Flaniken, Norse Top Raiders
Saturday December 4, 2021
RAINING THREES: Bay Men Outshoot Leech Lake
Tuesday November 30, 2021
CRUISE CONTROL: Shorthanded Norse Get Victory
Saturday November 27, 2021
Norse Come Up Short Against Ninth-Ranked MATC
Sunday November 21, 2021
Norse Men Slip Past Harper; Milwaukee Tech Next
Friday November 19, 2021
Bay College Grinds Past Mesabi In All-Norse Battle
Saturday November 13, 2021
HAPPY HOMECOMING: Johnson, Bay Win, 94-67
Friday November 12, 2021
129-30: Bay College Dominates Lake Superior JV's
Monday November 8, 2021
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Hold Off Glen Oaks
Saturday November 6, 2021
OPENING VICTORY: Norse Men Roll Past Kellogg
Friday November 5, 2021
NMU Sweeps Bay College In Basketball Exhibitions
Thursday October 28, 2021