• HS Softball 5/20: Escanaba 11, Marquette 0
  • HS Baseball 5/20: Escanaba 8, Superior Central 1
  • HS Softball 5/20: Hancock 4, Westwood 1
  • HS Softball 5/20: Norway 16, Stephenson 0
  • HS Softball 5/20: North Dickinson 12, Carney-Nadeau 10
5933 articles
Wednesday May 22, 2024
SKILLS CHALLENGE: UP All-Star Week Continues

Story written by XCel Football All-Star Game. Xcel photos.

MARQUETTE, MI –
The highlight of day three for the U.P. All-Star football players Wednesday was the Skills Challenge.  Events included the Fastest Man (40 yard dash), the Strongest Man (Bench Press-225 lbs), Quarterback Challenge, Receiver Challenge, Punting and Field Goal Kicking.

Three players made the All-Time Record list for their efforts.  Adam Horrigan, Sault and Drake Spickerman, Negaunee, pushed 23 reps in the 225 pound bench press, which earned them third place all-time in that category.  Cole Potier, Gladstone, had 22 reps in the bench press, which was good enough to move into second place all-time for non-linemen.. 
 
For some of the challenges, the players were split into two divisions, lineman and non-lineman.  Having two divisions gives those challenges a unique atmosphere, as there are several competitions taking place within each event.  The three events that are split are: Fastest Man, Strongest Man and Receiver Challenge. 
 
Results for the Players Challenge are as follows: 

Fastest Man (Lineman): Niko Lukkarinen (Black Team), Negaunee, 40 yard dash = 5.32 seconds (elec timed) 

Fastest Man (Non-Lineman): Carter Oshelski (Black Team), Sault, 40 yard dash=4.68 seconds (elec timed) 

Strongest Man (Lineman): Adam Horrigan (Red Team), Sault, and Drake Spickerman (Red Team), Negaunee, Bench Press = 225 lbs, 23 reps (3rd All-Time) 

Strongest Man (Non-Lineman): Cole Potier (Red Team), Gladstone, Bench Press = 225 lbs, 22 reps (2nd All-Time) 

Quarterback Challenge: Brayden Altoft (Red Team), Pickford, Distance Thrown = 55 yards 

Receiver Challenge (Non-Lineman): Trent Lawson (Red Team), Escanaba 

Receiver Challenge (Lineman): Drake Spickerman (Red Team), Negaunee 

Punting: Kaedan Calcari (Black Team), Menominee, 53 yards 

Field Goal Kicking: Riccardo Moauro (Black Team), Gogebic, 43 yards 
 
The players will next host a Youth Camp at the Dome Thursday evening from 6:30-8:00 PM.  All kids ages 6 and up are welcome to attend.  All-Star Banquet is set for Friday at the University Center, 6 PM. 




Choose team:
No schedule entries



Negaunee Battles West Catholic; Falls In Title Game
Friday November 25, 2022
U.P. POWER!!! Negaunee Advances To State Finals
Sunday November 20, 2022
Gladstone Season Ends; Negaunee Advances, 18-12
Saturday November 12, 2022
LONG TIME COMING: Braves Win Football District
Friday November 4, 2022
GNC ALL-CONFERENCE: Nora Named Top Player
Friday November 4, 2022
Gladstone Braves Win First Playoff Game Since '08
Sunday October 30, 2022
RIVALRY DOMINANCE: Gladstone Crushes Esky
Friday October 21, 2022
PERFECT SEASON: Miners Smack Westwood 44-0
Thursday October 20, 2022
Escanaba JV's Outlast Gladstone With Big 2nd Half
Thursday October 20, 2022
No Change At Top Of Upper Peninsula Football Poll
Tuesday October 18, 2022
CLUTCH FINISH: Braves Outlast Blue Devils, 22-14
Friday October 14, 2022
Negaunee, NCA Remain Tops In U.P. Football Polls
Tuesday October 11, 2022
STATEMENT MADE: Miners Dominate Braves 24-6
Friday October 7, 2022
Negaunee Miners New No. 1 Team; NCA Still Tops
Tuesday October 4, 2022
Gladstone Comeback Falls Short In Top Ten Battle
Friday September 30, 2022
CONFERENCE CHAMPS! Braves Batter Marquette
Friday September 23, 2022
Gladstone Braves, NCA Jets Remain Ranked No. 1
Tuesday September 20, 2022
Braves Win With Five Potier TD, Five Interceptions
Saturday September 17, 2022
Gladstone Braves Football Team Ranked #1 In U.P.
Tuesday September 13, 2022
BIG PUTCH! Potier Helps Gladstone Roll Maroons
Friday September 9, 2022
Frossard Helps JV Braves Roll Past Maroons, 56-6
Thursday September 8, 2022
PARTY LIKE IT'S 1998: Gladstone Beats Kingsford
Friday September 2, 2022
Braves Dominate Copper Kings In Season-Opener
Friday August 26, 2022
MEET THE BRAVES: Fall Sports Seasons Starting
Sunday August 21, 2022
New-Look Gladstone Braves Open Football Practice
Tuesday August 9, 2022