• LLBB 11-12 States 7/21: Muskegon Roosevelt Park 6, Negaunee 3
  • LLBB 11-12 States 7/21: Bay City Southwest 15, Norway 5
  • LLSB 9-11 States 7/21: Gladstone 16, Sparta 0
  • LLSB 9-11 States 7/21: Grosse Pointe 12, Marquette 1
6006 articles
Monday July 22, 2024
'GUNNING 'EM DOWN: Bourdeau Leads Esky, 3-1

Click the thumbnails to see videos of all three Eskymo goals.

CALUMET---
Senior Gunner Bourdeau scored two goals and assisted on another as the Escanaba High School hockey team beat the Calumet Copper Kings, 3-1, Saturday afternoon at the Calumet Colosseum. It was Escanaba's first win in the old Calumet Armory in nine years, after the Eskymos also picked up a rare win over Hancock at the Houghton County Arena.

The game was scoreless after the first period, but the Copper Kings scored at the 4:03 mark of the second period when Gabe Mattila tallied, assisted by Nathan Londo and Dan Loukus.

Escanaba got even five minutes later when Bourdeau hopped on a loose puck from the top of the left circle and rifled it past goaltender Aksel Loukus. Graham Johnson drew the assist,

Johnson also made the play on what would turn out to be the game-winning goal, as he passed from behind the net to Trevor Streichert for the 2-1 goal at the 12:13 mark. Bourdeau also drew an assist on that goal.

The Eskymos has a chance to put the game away with a five-minute power play off a major penalty (and game ejection) given to Calumet's Ben Frantti for spearing. But the Copper KIngs managed to kill off tat long power play at the end of the second and start of the third periods.

Escanaba freshman goaltender Cully Hayes stopped all five of Calumet's third period shots, and then Bourdeau finished the scoring with an empty-net goal with 1:01 to play.

Escanaba outshot Calumet, 26-21, in the game.

Escanaba improved to 11-4-0 on the season. The Eskymos head downstate next weekend, starting with a Thursday night game in Saginaw against the FNV Griffins at the Saginaw Bay Ice Arena. The game starts at 7:00.

Calumet's season record fell to 5-9-2.

SATURDAY'S OTHER GAMES
Gaylord 4, (at) Negaunee 3
(at) Houghton 9, Plymouth Salem 4
(at) Sault Ste. Marie 5, Port Huron Northern 2
(at) Hancock 6, Grandville 0
Kingsford 3, (at) Rhinelander, Wis. 0
(at) Manistique 5, Cadillac 1







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Michigan H.S. Hockey All-State Teams Announced
Monday March 20, 2023
Escanaba Eskymos Celebrate Great Hockey Season
Friday March 17, 2023
U.P. HIGH SCHOOL HOCKEY SCORES/SCHEDULES
Friday March 10, 2023
SEASON OVER: Eskymos Eliminated By Houghton
Saturday March 4, 2023
LONG TIME COMING: Esky Hockey Wins Regional
Thursday March 2, 2023
SURVIVE & ADVANCE: Esky Eliminates Kingsford
Saturday February 25, 2023
OVERTIME THRILLER: Esky Rallies To Beat Sault
Friday February 17, 2023
'CLOSE YOUR TRAPS': Eskymos Skate By Emeralds
Wednesday February 15, 2023
Hayes, Bourdeau Help Eskymos Beat Ashwaubenon
Saturday February 11, 2023
LATE-NIGHT WINNER: Eskymos Top DePere, 6-2
Wednesday February 8, 2023
COLD AS ICE: Esky Falls Flat Against FNV Griffins
Friday January 27, 2023
Eskymos Close 2022 With Easy Victory Over Dexter
Thursday December 29, 2022
ORANGE & BLACK ALUMNI: Esky Hockey Night
Friday December 23, 2022
Eskymo Hockey Skates Past Hancock On Road, 4-2
Friday December 16, 2022
FRESHMEN RULE: Bink, Johnson Lead Eskymos
Friday December 9, 2022
PHYSICAL WIN: Eskymos Grind Past Miners, 6-0
Tuesday December 6, 2022
Eskymo Hockey Rolls Over Jeffers On Senior Night
Friday December 2, 2022
Marquette Hockey Erupts To Mercy Escanaba, 11-3
Wednesday November 30, 2022
ALL IN THE FAMILY: Eskymos Rally Past Flivvers
Tuesday November 22, 2022