• HS Girls Basketball 12/3: Gwinn 41, Brimley 31
  • HS Girls Basketball 12/3: Escanaba 50, McBain 42
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Marquette 9, Midland Dow 0
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Kingsford 3, Cheboygan 0
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Negaunee 11, Monroe Catholic Central 4
  • College Hockey 12/3: Michigan Tech 3, Northern Michigan 1
  • College Basketball 12/3: Dakota County (Minn) 69, Bay College 67
5312 articles
Tuesday December 6, 2022
All-U.P. Eight-Player Football Awards Announced

MARQUETTE---The Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association has released its Eight Man All-U.P. teams. The voting was done last week by a panel of 16 reporters from around the U.P. at a meeting in Marquette, before the North Central Jets won the state championship.

The Jets still swept most of the major awards, and had the most players on the various Dream Teams. A notable couple of picks went to the Mid Peninsula High School team, which had its first team in a decade this fall. Quarterback Bradly VanDamme and wide receiver Michael Englund were First team selections.

Otherwise, it was almost entirely NCA Jets, with Luke Gorzinski winning Offensive Player of the Year, and Dillon Raab getting Defensive Player of the Year.

Offensive Player of the Year: Luke Gorzinski, North Central

Defensive Player of the Year: Dillon Raab, North Central

Division 1 Team of the Year: Munising

Division 2 Team of the Year: North Central

Coach of the Year: Joe Austin, Newberry

Mitchell Snyder Lineman of the Year: Mason Totzke, Ontonagon

Dream Team


Line: Mason Totzke, Ontonagon, 6-1 ,319, Sr.

Line: Riley Murk, Munising, 6-2, 266, Sr.

Line: Max Nason, North Central, 6-0, 200, Jr.

Quarterback: Luke Gorzinski, North Central, 5-10, 175, Sr.

Running back: Josiah Peramaki, Munising, 6-0, 181, Sr.

Running back: Sam McKissack, Forest Park, 6-0, 185, Sr.

Wide receiver: Bryce Buzzo, Ontonagon, 6-0, 160, Sr.

Wide receiver: Carter Johnson, Rapid River, 6-3, 190, Sr.

Athlete: Matthew Rahilly, Newberry, 6-0, 175, Soph.


Line: Jordan Messenger, North Central, 6-0, 200, Sr.

Line: Drew Webber, North Central, 5-10, 180, Sr.

Line: Ashton Wymer, Munising, 5-5, 217, Sr.

End: Micaiah Peramaki, Munising, 6-1, 194, Sr.

End: Gabe Luck, Newberry, 6-1, 190, Jr.

Linebacker: Jacob Mattson, Munising, 5-8, 212, Sr.

Linebacker: Dillon Raab, North Central, 5-9, 170, Sr.

Back: Kane Nebel, Munising, 6-1, 185, Sr.

Back: Ian Popp, Norway, 5-9, 150, Jr.

Special Teams

Kicker: Jacob Nolan, Rudyard, 6-1, 170, Sr.

Punter: Gabe Quevedo, Forest Park, 5-8, 150, Soph.

Return specialist: Wyatt Spade, Norway, Jr.

First Team


Line: Kevin Giuliani, Crystal Falls Forest Park, 6-3, 210, Soph.

Line: Kirby Koskela, Lake Linden-Hubbell, 5-10, 215, Sr.

Line: Blake Doke, Newberry, 6-1, 225, Sr.

Quarterback: Bradly VanDamme, Mid Peninsula, 5-11, 180, Jr.

Running back: Brayden Altoft, Pickford, 6-2, 190, Sr.

Running back: Marco Juarez, Newberry, 5-8, 170, Sr.

Wide receiver: Michael Englund, Mid Peninsula, 6-0, 163, Sr.

Wide receiver: Spencer Kramer, North Dickinson, Freshman

Athlete: Cam Peterson, Rudyard, 5-10, Jr.


Line: Elijah Penney, Superior Central, 6-0, 160, Jr.

Line: Eli Sprague, Rudyard, Jr.

End: Owen Eichmeier, North Central, 5-10, 170, Sr.

Linebacker: Zach Burton, Newberry, 6-0, 190, Sr.

Linebacker: Devan Groleau, Stephenson, 5-10, 170, Sr.

Back: Cody Dabb, Ironwood, 6-2, 185, Sr.

Back: Aiden Bickel, Rudyard, 5-7, 170, Jr.

Back: James Milkey, Lake Linden-Hubbell, 5-9, 165, Sr.

Special Teams

Kicker: Adrian Mercier, North Central, 5-8, 160, Jr.

Punter: Riccardo Moauro, Gogebic, 5-11, 160, Sr.

Return specialist: Wyatt Kulik, Superior Central, 5-7, 140, Sr.

Special mention

Colin Cordy, North Central, OL, 6-1, 205, Sr.; Jason Kanerva, Superior Central, 6-0, 250, Jr.; Cole Baij, Norway, QB, 6-0, 175, Soph.; Austin Gordon, Ontonagon, QB, 5-11, 145, Soph.; Mason Hotzberger, Lake Linden-Hubbell, LB, Jr.; Tristin Syers, Mid Peninsula, LB, 5-10, 195, Sr.; Emmett Vining, Superior Central, LB, 5-9, 165, Sr.; Ethan Anderson, Stephenson, DB, 5-7, 160, Jr.; Lucas Swetich, Superior Central, Return Specialist, 5-8, 145, Sr.  

Honorable mention

Carter Dahl, Stephenson, OL, 6-0, 185, Sr.; Gabe Popko, Lake Linden-Hubbell, OL, 6-2, 195, Jr.; Caden Besonen, Ontonagon, RB, 5-10, 145, Soph.; Tristan Kacynski, Stephenson, 5-10, 172, Sr.; Seth Miller, Pickford, 5-8, 170, Soph.; Michael Peterson, Norway, 6-3, 190, Sr.; Sam Roberts, Lake Linden-Hubbell, RB; Lucas Swetich, Superior Central, RB, 5-8, 145, Sr.; Elijah Gorzinski, North Central, WR, 5-10, 155, Sr.; Garrett Orsborne, Pickford, Sr.; Mike Perkins, Cedarville-DeTour, Sr.; Cason Smith, Cedarville-DeTour, Sr.; Tristin Syers, Mid Peninsula, LB, 5-10, 195, Sr.; Emmett Vinng, Superior Central, 5-9, 165, Sr.; Dylan Plunger, North Central, DB, 6-1, 180, Sr.; Felix Quevedo, Forest Park, DB, 5-9, 150, Jr.; Aiden Bickel, Rudyard, Return Specialist, 5-7, 170, Jr.  

Esky's Haslow, Wunder Sign College Football Letter
Thursday February 8, 2018
Mid Pen Schools Apply For West Pac Memberships
Wednesday October 18, 2017