• HS Girls Basketball 12/3: Gwinn 41, Brimley 31
  • HS Girls Basketball 12/3: Escanaba 50, McBain 42
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Marquette 9, Midland Dow 0
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Kingsford 3, Cheboygan 0
  • HS Hockey 12/3: Negaunee 11, Monroe Catholic Central 4
  • College Hockey 12/3: Michigan Tech 3, Northern Michigan 1
  • College Basketball 12/3: Dakota County (Minn) 69, Bay College 67
5312 articles
Tuesday December 6, 2022
Escanaba JV's Outlast Gladstone With Big 2nd Half

Click the thumbnails to see photos and video highlights from the game.

ESCANABA---
The Escanaba High School junior varsity football team scored two second half touchdowns to rally past the Gladstone Braves, 22-19, in the season finale Thursday night.

Kaleb Gagne broke off a long touchdown pass in the first quarter to give the Eskymos the lead, 7-0, with the extra point kick good. But Isaac Ketchum scored two touchdown runs in the second quarter, the second after quaeterback Gavin Frossard got along completion to Owen Gereau. A Luke Ingram PAT kick had Gladstone leading, 13-7, at the half.

But in the second half, the Eskymo defense stiffened, and quarterback Nolan Bink engineered two touchdown drives. The first ended on a two-yard touchdown run by Gagne that was set up on a nice catch and run off a Bink pass to Javon Stevenson.

A Graham Johnson extra point kick gave Escanaba a 14-13 lead.

Ketchum left the game after taking a helmet (or knee) to his quad, and with him on the sideline, the Gladstone offense became one-dimensional and sputtered.

The Braves were forced to punt at midfield, and Bret Seger pinned the Eskymos deep with a nice punt to the two yard-line. But Escanaba drove 98 yards up field, with the Gladstone tackling leaving a lot to be desired, especially on the wirey Bink.

Bink scored on a 35-yard touchdown run with 2:21 left in the fourth quarter to make it 20-13, then the Eskymos decided to go for two points to put the game out of reach. Bink scrambvled and found Lennox Peacock at the front of the end zone for the two-point pass.

Trailing 22-13, the Braves needed two scores, and Frossard engineered the two-minute drill nicely against the soft Eskymo defense. Frossard passed to Nehemiah Blair for the touchdown with 44 seconds to play, closing the Braves to within 22-19.

Gladstone needed to get the on-side kick, the same way they did on the game's opening kickoff. This time, though, the Eskymos recovered and Bink kneeled down in victory formation, as Eskymo Coach Josh Ling was drenched by the water jug with a 7-2 season now over.

Gladstone's JV's ended its season with a 4-4 record.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gladstone Season Ends; Negaunee Advances, 18-12
Saturday November 12, 2022
LONG TIME COMING: Braves Win Football District
Friday November 4, 2022
GNC ALL-CONFERENCE: Nora Named Top Player
Friday November 4, 2022
Gladstone Braves Win First Playoff Game Since '08
Sunday October 30, 2022
RIVALRY DOMINANCE: Gladstone Crushes Esky
Friday October 21, 2022
No Change At Top Of Upper Peninsula Football Poll
Tuesday October 18, 2022
CLUTCH FINISH: Braves Outlast Blue Devils, 22-14
Friday October 14, 2022
Negaunee, NCA Remain Tops In U.P. Football Polls
Tuesday October 11, 2022
STATEMENT MADE: Miners Dominate Braves 24-6
Friday October 7, 2022
Negaunee Miners New No. 1 Team; NCA Still Tops
Tuesday October 4, 2022
Gladstone Comeback Falls Short In Top Ten Battle
Friday September 30, 2022
CONFERENCE CHAMPS! Braves Batter Marquette
Friday September 23, 2022
Kingsford JV Football Uses Big Plays To Beat Esky
Thursday September 22, 2022
Gladstone Braves, NCA Jets Remain Ranked No. 1
Tuesday September 20, 2022
Braves Win With Five Potier TD, Five Interceptions
Saturday September 17, 2022
Gladstone Braves Football Team Ranked #1 In U.P.
Tuesday September 13, 2022
BIG PUTCH! Potier Helps Gladstone Roll Maroons
Friday September 9, 2022
Frossard Helps JV Braves Roll Past Maroons, 56-6
Thursday September 8, 2022
PARTY LIKE IT'S 1998: Gladstone Beats Kingsford
Friday September 2, 2022
Braves Dominate Copper Kings In Season-Opener
Friday August 26, 2022
Eskymos Drop Season-Opener To Sault High, 46-19
Friday August 26, 2022
MEET THE BRAVES: Fall Sports Seasons Starting
Sunday August 21, 2022
Escanaba Football Team Looks To Erase '21 Losses
Wednesday August 10, 2022
New-Look Gladstone Braves Open Football Practice
Tuesday August 9, 2022