• HS Soccer 10/5: Marquette 5, Sault Ste. Marie 1
  • HS Volleyball 10/4: Escanaba 3, Bark River-Harris 1
  • HS Volleyball 10/4: Manistique 3, Negaunee 0
5223 articles
Friday October 7, 2022
Kingsford Blues Sweep Doubleheader In Gladstone

Click the thumbnails to see photos and video highlights from the game

GLADSTONE---
The Kingsford Blues American Legion baseball team won twice Wednesday in Gladstone, beating the Junior Indians, 13-0, and then squeaking by in the nightcap, 2-1.

Kingsford pounded out 16 base hits in the game, which was called after four innings due to the mercy rule. Gavin Trevillian had two of them, and drove in five runs altogether.

Gavin Grondin had three hits, while Garrett Brown, Nic Novara, Bryce Adams, and Jack Kriegl all had two hits.

Gladstone had only one base hit (by Cooper Sanville) off of Brown, who threw all four innings and struck out four and walked one. Blake Tanner took the loss, giving up all 13 runs in 3 1/3 innings before running out of pitches due to his 105-pitch count.

The second game was a pitcher's duel between Gladstone's Isaac Ketchum and Kingsford' s Bryce Adams. Ketchum threw all six innings and struck out eleven batters, and was given a 1-0 lead in the first inning when Sanville scored on a wild pitch.

Ketchum allowed only three base hits, but one of them was an RBI singtle by Reed DeGroot in the fourth inning that tied the game.

The Blues scored what turned out the winning run in the fifth inning when Mason Trudeau walked, went to third on a botched pick-off play, and scored on a squeeze bunt by Jack Spreen.

Adams threw all six innings and wasn't spectacular, but was steady, allowing only two base hits and three walks. He struck out three batters. Adams was helped by a double play in the first inning when Blake Tanner hit a fly ball to center field with a runner on third base, and Trudeau came up throwing, getting it to DeGroot for the tag at home plate, keeping it 1-0 at the time.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Escanaba Cubs Beat Clinton, Gladstone In Trenton
Friday July 29, 2022
Escanaba, Gladstone Fall In State Tourney Openers
Thursday July 28, 2022
Gladstone Falls One Game Short in Semifinal Loss
Saturday July 23, 2022
American Legion Zone Five Tournament Kicks Off
Friday July 22, 2022
Kingsford Wins Junior Legion Title Over Marquette
Sunday July 17, 2022
MACK ON TRACK: Indians Cruise Past Red Wave
Thursday July 14, 2022
Kaven's Career Night Leads Cubs Past Indians, 13-4
Tuesday July 12, 2022
Gladstone Indians Lose Two At Antigo Tournament
Saturday July 9, 2022
Indians Honor '19 Title Team; Beat Red Wave, 9-5
Wednesday July 6, 2022
WALK OFF: Peacock Helps Cubs Beat Indians, 7-6
Friday July 1, 2022
Mistake-Prone Gladstone Indians Fall In Wisconsin
Thursday June 30, 2022
Gladstone Indians Earn 7-4 Victory In Wisconsin
Wednesday June 29, 2022
Gladstone Indians Take Two In Firecracker Tourney
Sunday June 26, 2022
Wisconsin Teams Rule On First Day Of Firecracker
Friday June 24, 2022
Final Four Set For Delta County Legion Tournament
Saturday June 18, 2022
Golds, Flames, Marinette Go 2-0 On Opening Day
Friday June 17, 2022
Gladstone Edges Escanaba in Tournament Opener
Thursday June 16, 2022