• HS Softball 5/15: Allen Park 9, Escanaba 8
  • HS Softball 5/15: Gladstone 13, Royal Oak 1
  • HS Softball 5/15: Canton 3, Escanaba 2
  • HS Softball 5/15: Allen Park JV 9, Gladstone 2
  • HS Baseball 5/14: Gladstone 16, Menominee 5
4981 articles
Tuesday May 17, 2022
Norse Cruise Past Harper; Sunday Game Cancelled

This story was written by Bay College SID Mike Pankow. Click the thumbnails to see pictures and videos, and hear post-game comments from Jahlani Thornton and Coach Matt Johnson. Also click to hear Parker Maki's player spotlight interview.

PALANTINE, IL –
The Bay College Men's Basketball Team (11-2) came out hot and took a big lead early.  They would never surrender the lead, cruising to a 66-41 win over the Harper College Hawks (0-12) on Saturday evening.

The Norse received some bad news as their game on Sunday has been cancelled because of COVID protocols and concerns with Joliet Community College.
 

They will now have to wait a week to get back on the court.
 

Next weekend they will participate in the Anoka-Ramsey Community College Holiday Classic and will square off with Rochester Community College on Saturday afternoon before facing the host team on Sunday.

Bay rattled off 15 points before Harper cracked the scoreboard.  The Hawks would not get their first field goal until the 9:36 mark in the first half.  The three cut the lead to 15-4 at that point, but the damage had been done. 


That would be as close as Harper would get as the Norse continued to flex their muscle throughout.  Bay forced the Hawks into 13 turnovers in the first half and extended to a 31-17 lead at the half. 


The Norse continued their dominance in the second half with some strong shooting.  They connected on 45.7% of their shots and would extend to 26-point lead midway through the second half.  Bay was excellent inside and would amass 44 points in the paint. 


Harper did shoot the ball well from deep, hitting seven of 14 attempts from three but 26 turnovers took its toll.  The Norse would hoist up 21 more attempts from the field and were good on 42.4% of their shots.


Neither team helped themselves from the charity stripe.  Bay was just five of 17 from free throw, while the Hawks hit on just eight of 27 shots.


Diang Gatluak
 (SO, Sioux Falls, SD) paced the Norse with 13 points and six rebounds.  Jahlani Thornton (FR, Detroit, MI) added twelve points and five rebounds off the bench while Jaylen Flaniken (FR, Troy, MI) scored ten points and grabbed seven rebounds.


Sean Beckman led the Hawks with ten points and seven rebounds.  David Thompson also grabbed seven boards.
 









Choose team:
No schedule entries



END OF THE LINE: Norse Fall In Regional Semis
Saturday February 26, 2022
Norse Men Can't Keep Up With 12th-Ranked Triton
Sunday February 13, 2022
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Overpower Lake County
Friday February 11, 2022
Big Gogebic Samsons Rally Stuns Bay College, 61-56
Wednesday February 9, 2022
Bay College Men Drop Alpena For 3rd Straight Win
Saturday February 5, 2022
Bay College Men Blow Past LSSU Jr. Lakers, 112-76
Tuesday February 1, 2022
Norse Men Shake Off Rust, Outlast Finlandia, 71-67
Saturday January 29, 2022
Norse Showdown With DCTC Abruptly Postponed
Monday January 24, 2022
SO CLOSE! Norse Men Nearly Upset No. 1 Bulldogs
Saturday January 15, 2022
Bay College Snaps Losing Skid With Road Victory
Wednesday January 12, 2022
Shorthanded Norse Battle, Fall To Madison In OT
Friday January 7, 2022
Norse Open '22 With 106-74 Loss To Dakota County
Wednesday January 5, 2022
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Lose 2nd Game In Minnesota
Sunday December 19, 2021
6th-Ranked RCTC Gets Better Of Norse Men Again
Saturday December 18, 2021
Hudson Helps Norse Rally Past Lumberjacks, 72-66
Wednesday December 8, 2021
MOTOR CITY RALLY: Flaniken, Norse Top Raiders
Saturday December 4, 2021
Rough Start Costs Norse In Loss At Macomb, 70-59
Friday December 3, 2021
RAINING THREES: Bay Men Outshoot Leech Lake
Tuesday November 30, 2021
CRUISE CONTROL: Shorthanded Norse Get Victory
Saturday November 27, 2021
Norse Come Up Short Against Ninth-Ranked MATC
Sunday November 21, 2021
Norse Men Slip Past Harper; Milwaukee Tech Next
Friday November 19, 2021
Bay College Grinds Past Mesabi In All-Norse Battle
Saturday November 13, 2021
HAPPY HOMECOMING: Johnson, Bay Win, 94-67
Friday November 12, 2021
129-30: Bay College Dominates Lake Superior JV's
Monday November 8, 2021
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Hold Off Glen Oaks
Saturday November 6, 2021
OPENING VICTORY: Norse Men Roll Past Kellogg
Friday November 5, 2021
NMU Sweeps Bay College In Basketball Exhibitions
Thursday October 28, 2021