• HS Boys Cross Country 9/29: Marquette 28, Ishpeming 57, Gladstone 62
  • HS Volleyball 9/29: Gladstone 3, Westwood 1
  • HS Volleyball 9/29: Carney-Nadeau 3, Superior Central 0
  • HS Volleyball 9/29: Stephenson 3, North Dickinson 2
  • HS Girls Cross Country 9/29: Marquette 48, Negaunee 99, Kingsford 104
4255 articles
Wednesday September 30, 2020
Escanaba Cubs Outlast Copper Country Flames, 7-5

IRON MOUNTAIN---The Escanaba Cubs Under-19 baseball team scored two runs in the fifth inning to break a 5-5 tie and beat the Copper Country Flames, 7-5, in the opening round of the Upper Peninsula Finals Thursday night in Iron Mountain.

Riley Lamb had two hits and drove in three runs, including the tiebreaking run in the sixth inning. Grant LaMarche added an RBI triple early in the game, and Noah Lancour added an RBI single in the sixth inning to provide an insurance run.

And they needed that insurance as relief pitcher Brett Schlenvogt hit a batter and walked another in the seventh inning. But Schlenv0gt got Levi Frahm to fly out to left fielder Matt Zimmerman to earn the save.

Lancour threw the first five innings to get the win. He allowed only five base hits, but also hit four batters and walked two others.

Noah Bach led Copper Country with a pair of RBI hits in the first and third innings, and Sam Kiiskala smacked a two-run double in the third inning that gave Copper Country a brief 4-3 lead. But the Flames hurt themselves with four errors on defense. The Cubs had no errors.

The Cubs also bunted well, with Collin Arnt putting down two of them and Schlenvogt one.

Eli Oldt took the loss on the mound for the Flames, going 4 1/3 innings, allowing seven runs (four earned) on five Cubs hits. He was the victim of three of the errors, although he made one of them himself on Arnt's bunt that eventually led to three Escanaba runs.

Zimmerman and Hunter Lancour had Escanaba's other hits.

The Cubs (8-8) take on Gladstone at 10:30 ET/9:30 CT Friday in Iron Mountain, and will face the host Iron Mountain team at 1 ET/12 CT. Both games will be broadcast on NewsTalk 600 and www.rrnsports.com.

OTHER GAMES---The Gladstone Indians scored a run in the seventh inning to beat the host Iron Mountain team. 2-1; the Eastern U.P. Wood Ducks surprised the Marquette Blues, 6-5; and the Menominee Red Wave mercied the Bark River Bucs, 10-0, in six innings.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear post-game comments from Lamb and Coach Jon Bintner.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



ANOTHER TIGHT ONE: IMKN Boys Fall In Qtrs.
Sunday August 9, 2020
IMKN U-19 Baseball Drops Two In Wisconsin Dells
Saturday August 8, 2020
Gladstone Indians Celebrate Successful '20 Season
Wednesday August 5, 2020
Escanaba 12-Under Bears Finish Second In Tourney
Saturday August 1, 2020
Escanaba 12-Under Bears Win Final Home Games
Thursday July 30, 2020
WILD FINISH: Menominee Caps Season With Title
Saturday July 25, 2020
Indians Advance To Semifinals; Escanaba Bows Out
Friday July 24, 2020
SURVIVAL MODE: Indians Sneak Past Iron Mt. 2-1
Thursday July 23, 2020
RUNNING THE TABLE; Junior Cubs Win UP Title
Saturday July 18, 2020
Petoskey Royals AA Cruise Past Escanaba Cubs, 6-2
Friday July 17, 2020
SPLIT DECISION: Bucs, Red Wave Both Take One
Thursday July 16, 2020
Marquette Blues Hold Off Gladstone Indians, 6-4
Wednesday July 15, 2020
Gladstone Sweeps Sault To Complete 3-1 Weekend
Sunday July 12, 2020
LOSING STREAK OVER: Cubs Earn Walk-Off Win
Saturday July 11, 2020
Mistake-Prone Cubs Fall To Sheboygan In Opener
Friday July 10, 2020
Iron Mountain Strikes Early To Turn Back Indians
Thursday July 9, 2020
BEAT THE HEAT: Johnson, Iron Mountain Win 8-3
Wednesday July 8, 2020
Marquette Sweeps Doubleheader From Esky Cubs
Wednesday July 8, 2020
HANGING ON: Gladstone Survives Escanaba Rally
Tuesday July 7, 2020
Iron Mountain Cruises Past Escanaba In U-19 Play
Monday July 6, 2020
RIVALRY BATTLE: Indians Cruise Past Escanaba
Thursday July 2, 2020
DOMINATING PITCHING: Henriksen Leads Blues
Thursday July 2, 2020
HOLY COW! Esky Cubs Surprise Menominee, 8-2
Wednesday July 1, 2020
Marquette Stops Menominee; Cubs, Indians Rally
Monday June 29, 2020
SUNDAY BALL: Iron Mountain, Menominee Win
Sunday June 28, 2020
DOUBLE DIP: Cubs, Junior Cubs Win Tight Games
Friday June 26, 2020
Gladstone Tops Marquette To Earn First Win, 6-5
Thursday June 25, 2020
Bark River Bucs Drop Doubleheader In Marquette
Wednesday June 24, 2020
RIDE THE WAVE: Menominee Rolls Past Gladstone
Sunday June 21, 2020
Cubs Beat Negaunee; Lose Heartbreaker To Flames
Sunday June 21, 2020
Rain Washes Out Saturday’s Local Baseball Contests
Saturday June 20, 2020
HANGING ON: Cubs Hold Off Bucs In Opener, 9-7
Friday June 19, 2020
Marquette Blues Rally Past Gladstone Indians, 7-6
Friday June 19, 2020
Bucs Cruise To Sweep In Delta County First Games
Wednesday June 17, 2020
Marquette Blues Open Season With Win In Hancock
Tuesday June 16, 2020
Menominee Pitchers Shut Down Copper Country
Saturday June 13, 2020
BASEBALL IS BACK: U.P. League Plays First Game
Wednesday June 10, 2020
U.P. Baseball League Plans To Open Season June 19
Tuesday May 26, 2020
2020 American Legion Baseball Program Cancelled
Monday April 13, 2020