• HS Football 9/26: North Central 86, North Dickinson 0
  • HS Football 9/26: Munising 40, Newberry 0
  • HS Football 9/26: Kingsford 42, Norway 0
  • HS Football 9/26: Lake Linden-Hubbell 44, Superior Central 14
  • HS Football 9/26: Frankfort 40, St. Ignace 12
4253 articles
Tuesday September 29, 2020
Bucs Cruise To Sweep In Delta County First Games

BARK RIVER---The Bark River Bucs hosted the first baseball games in Delta County Wednesday night, turning back a young Niagara, Wis., team, 14-2 and 20-3 in a pair of mercy-shortened games. It was the first games held in the county since the pandemic hit.

The games lacked much drama, but the fact that the boys were back on the field was the major story.

“Normally by Legion season, they have a full high school season in, so they’re not as excited to go to practice and stuff,” Bark River Manager Matt Richer said. “But seeing as this is their only form of baseball this year, they’re all pretty juiced up to finally be out there and playing.”

The Bucs are part of the new Upper Peninsula u-19 Baseball League, eight teams who usually play American Legion Baseball. The Legion cancelled this season because of the coronavirus. They have kids not only from Bark River-Harris High School, but also from the North Central and Mid Peninsula Schools.

“It’s nice, we’ve been waiting a while for this,” said Joe Javeruk, who had six RBI in the doubleheader. “We’re looking pretty good. We’ve got a lot of players who come from different areas. There’s a lot of crap-talking. It happens a lot but it’s fun.”

On Wednesday, Niagara, made up mostly of young teenagers from Niagara, Norway (and one North Central boy), took the lead in the first inning of both games. But they made too many defensive mistakes and the Bark River hitters were on target most of the evening.

In the opener, Jesse Sampson’s RBI single gave Niagara a 1-0 lead in the first inning before the Bucs scored 13 times in the bottom of the first inning. Zach Englund, Johnnie Robinette, Travis Mack, and Zach Robinette had RBI hits in the inning, and Joe Javurek, Nick Javerick, and Englund both had two-run hits.

In the nightcap, Niagara took a 3-0 lead in the first inning as Issac Lesandrini and Blake Dishaw both had hits, and three walks and a groundout helped the runs to score. Bark River scored six runs in the bottom of the inning as Englund and Joe Javurek both drove in a pair of runs with base hits.

In the third inning, Bark River scored 14 runs. Englund and Joe Javurek both brought in two runs on base hits, Adrian Mercier had a bases-clearing double, and Hall and Mack both had a pair of hits. Englund ended up with six runs batted in during the doubleheader.

“it feels good, especially after our high school season got cancelled,” Englund said. “We had no baseball planned for the summer, then when the U.P. frinally decided to do this, I got excited.”

Bark River travels to Escanaba to face the Cubs in the first game of the Gregg Johnson Memorial Weekend. The game starts at 7:15 and it will be broadcast live on WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600) and on-line at www.rrnsports.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear interviews with Richer, Englund, and Joe Javurek.

---MORE---








Choose team:
No schedule entries



ANOTHER TIGHT ONE: IMKN Boys Fall In Qtrs.
Sunday August 9, 2020
IMKN U-19 Baseball Drops Two In Wisconsin Dells
Saturday August 8, 2020
Gladstone Indians Celebrate Successful '20 Season
Wednesday August 5, 2020
Escanaba 12-Under Bears Finish Second In Tourney
Saturday August 1, 2020
Escanaba 12-Under Bears Win Final Home Games
Thursday July 30, 2020
WILD FINISH: Menominee Caps Season With Title
Saturday July 25, 2020
Indians Advance To Semifinals; Escanaba Bows Out
Friday July 24, 2020
Escanaba Cubs Outlast Copper Country Flames, 7-5
Thursday July 23, 2020
SURVIVAL MODE: Indians Sneak Past Iron Mt. 2-1
Thursday July 23, 2020
RUNNING THE TABLE; Junior Cubs Win UP Title
Saturday July 18, 2020
Petoskey Royals AA Cruise Past Escanaba Cubs, 6-2
Friday July 17, 2020
SPLIT DECISION: Bucs, Red Wave Both Take One
Thursday July 16, 2020
Marquette Blues Hold Off Gladstone Indians, 6-4
Wednesday July 15, 2020
Gladstone Sweeps Sault To Complete 3-1 Weekend
Sunday July 12, 2020
LOSING STREAK OVER: Cubs Earn Walk-Off Win
Saturday July 11, 2020
Mistake-Prone Cubs Fall To Sheboygan In Opener
Friday July 10, 2020
Iron Mountain Strikes Early To Turn Back Indians
Thursday July 9, 2020
BEAT THE HEAT: Johnson, Iron Mountain Win 8-3
Wednesday July 8, 2020
Marquette Sweeps Doubleheader From Esky Cubs
Wednesday July 8, 2020
HANGING ON: Gladstone Survives Escanaba Rally
Tuesday July 7, 2020
Iron Mountain Cruises Past Escanaba In U-19 Play
Monday July 6, 2020
RIVALRY BATTLE: Indians Cruise Past Escanaba
Thursday July 2, 2020
DOMINATING PITCHING: Henriksen Leads Blues
Thursday July 2, 2020
HOLY COW! Esky Cubs Surprise Menominee, 8-2
Wednesday July 1, 2020
Marquette Stops Menominee; Cubs, Indians Rally
Monday June 29, 2020
SUNDAY BALL: Iron Mountain, Menominee Win
Sunday June 28, 2020
DOUBLE DIP: Cubs, Junior Cubs Win Tight Games
Friday June 26, 2020
Gladstone Tops Marquette To Earn First Win, 6-5
Thursday June 25, 2020
Bark River Bucs Drop Doubleheader In Marquette
Wednesday June 24, 2020
RIDE THE WAVE: Menominee Rolls Past Gladstone
Sunday June 21, 2020
Cubs Beat Negaunee; Lose Heartbreaker To Flames
Sunday June 21, 2020
Rain Washes Out Saturday’s Local Baseball Contests
Saturday June 20, 2020
HANGING ON: Cubs Hold Off Bucs In Opener, 9-7
Friday June 19, 2020
Marquette Blues Rally Past Gladstone Indians, 7-6
Friday June 19, 2020
Marquette Blues Open Season With Win In Hancock
Tuesday June 16, 2020
Menominee Pitchers Shut Down Copper Country
Saturday June 13, 2020
BASEBALL IS BACK: U.P. League Plays First Game
Wednesday June 10, 2020
U.P. Baseball League Plans To Open Season June 19
Tuesday May 26, 2020
2020 American Legion Baseball Program Cancelled
Monday April 13, 2020