• U.P. 19u Baseball 8/8: Apple Valley, Minn., Raptors 8, Iron Mountain 3
  • U.P. 19u Baseball 8/8: Rockford, Ill., Prospects 6, Iron Mountain 5
  • U.P. 19u Baseball 8/9: Iron Mountain-Kingsford-Norway vs Team TBA
4212 articles
Tuesday August 11, 2020
NMU Wildcats Look To Rebound On Homecoming

MARQUETTE----The Northern Michigan University football team had the lead in the third quarter last Saturday night in Texas, but too many mistakes cost them.

The Wildcats are back home Saturday to face Savenport University on NMU Homecoming at the Superior Dome. 

"We had penalties like we were being paid to get penalties," NMU Coach Kyle Nystrom said. "Thirteen penalties is unacceptable. A lot of those penalties, a majority, were line-of-scrimmage penalties. You can't have that. I can tolerate 'effort penalties' that show up.

"But when you've got too many penalties like illegal procedure, taking too much time on the clock, delay of game, off-sides. Those kinds of line-of scrimmage penalties, that's got to clean up."

The NMU players have heard the coaching staff message about those mistakes.

"Coach has really been getting on our discipline," NMU center Jay Young said at Thursday's practice. "We can't have those problems and win games."

"It's really about the communication on the line," NMU offensive lineman Gabe Baumann added. "We've really got to improve on that. The communication wasn't there all there. We've been working hard at that this week and we're getting tready to go."

Davenport opened its season with a 13-9 win over Lake Erie last Saturday.

Last year, Northern hada two-touchdown lead in the fourth quarter at Davenport, but it slipped away, as the Panthers beat the Wildcats in overtime.

Two years ago, the Wildcats beat Davenport at the Superior Dome, also on Wildcat Homecoming.

Saturday's game time is 1:00.

You can hear the broadcast live on WUPT-FM (100.3 The Point), WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600), and on-line at www.rrnsports.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos from Thursday afternoon's practice. Also click to hear interviews with Jay Young and Gabe Baumann, which will be played on the radio Saturday!







Choose team:
No schedule entries



SEASON OVER: Wildcat Football Loses In Ashland
Saturday November 16, 2019
ROUGH AFTERNOON: NMU Football Loses, 56-10
Saturday November 9, 2019
NMU Losing Streak Reaches Seven In 28-10 Setback
Sunday November 3, 2019
Northern Michigan Falls To #17 Grand Valley, 45-17
Saturday October 19, 2019
HEARTBROKEN AGAIN: Tech Outlasts Northern
Saturday October 12, 2019
Wildcats Prepare For U.P. Battle In Copper Country
Friday October 11, 2019
NMU's Tyquan Cox Named GLIAC Player Of Week
Tuesday October 8, 2019
NMU Offense Sputters In 27-14 Loss To Wayne St.
Saturday October 5, 2019
Wildcats Recover Five Fumbles; Fall At Ferris State
Saturday September 28, 2019
Wildcat Offense Struggles In Homecoming Setback
Saturday September 21, 2019
LONE STAR LOSS: Wildcats Fall In Texas, 40-24
Saturday September 14, 2019
DOMINANT 'D': 'Cats Shut Down McKendree, 30-9
Saturday September 7, 2019
Young Wildcat Club Offering Youth Season Tickets
Wednesday August 28, 2019
NMU-Tech Football Will Be Aired On Social Media
Tuesday August 27, 2019
Johnson Ready To Lead Wildcats After Lost Season
Monday August 19, 2019
NMU Football Player Saves Drowning Man In Lake
Wednesday August 14, 2019