• Women's College Basketball 10/20: Northern Michigan 74, Bay College 46
  • Men's College Soccer 10/20: Northern Michigan 2, Purdue Northwest 1
  • Women's College Softball 10/20: Finlandia 11, Bay College 1, Gm 1
  • Bay College 2, Finalndia 0, Gm 2
  • Women's College Soccer 10/20: Davenport 3, Northern Michigan 2
3867 articles
Tuesday October 22, 2019
Salo Perfect Again; Eskymos Take District Opener

ESCANABA---Gabi Salo pitched a perfect game and hit a home run as the Escanaba Eskymos opened district tournament play with a 7-0 win over the Cheboygan Chiefs Tuesday in Escanaba. The Eskymos opened defense of last year's state championship with a victory by pounding out ten hits, including three by Lexi Chaillier.

Chaillier had two runs batted in and scored a pair of runs. And she saved Salo's perfect game when she took a base hit away from the Chiefs in right field, scooping up a sharpky-hit ground ball and throwing it to first base in time for the out.

Nicole Kamin had two hits and drove in two runs, and Jalin Olson had an RBI hit.

Salo's home run was icing on the cake, after she needed just 74 pitches to strike out 15 Cheboygan batters.

She threw 66 strikes and only eight balls.

In Tuesday's first game, Petoskey eliminated Marquette, 9-2.

Escanaba will face Kingsford in the district semifinals Saturday at 2:00. Petoskey meets Sault Ste. Marie in the first semifinal at noon, also at Lemmerand Park.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, videos taken by Johnny Schlenvogt.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



CELEBRATION TIME! Community Greets Eskymos
Tuesday June 25, 2019
Fourteen UP Softball Players Earn All-State Honors
Tuesday June 18, 2019
U.P. SOFTBALL PLAYOFF SCORES
Friday June 14, 2019
HEART-STOPPING! Kamin Bomb Rallies Eskymos
Thursday June 13, 2019
RETURN TO MSU: Salo, Eskymos Outlast Freeland
Tuesday June 11, 2019
WALK-OFF WINNER: Eskymos Take Regional, 1-0
Saturday June 8, 2019
TITLE DEFENSE CONTINUES: Eskymos Win Two
Saturday June 1, 2019
OFFENSIVE EXPLOSION: Eskymos Sweep Braves
Tuesday May 21, 2019
Escanaba Softball Shut Down By #1 Clarkston, 5-0
Saturday May 18, 2019
DOING THE SPLITS: Eskymos, Braves Swap Wins
Tuesday May 14, 2019
Escanaba Bounces Back; Braves Fall To Cardinals
Saturday May 11, 2019
Millington Shuts Down Esky In Softball Showdown
Friday May 10, 2019
Salo, Kamin Pace Eskymos In Two More Victories
Saturday May 4, 2019
CHALLENGE MET: Esky Takes Three In Wisconsin
Saturday April 27, 2019
Eskymos Handcuff Rockets In Doubleheader Sweep
Wednesday April 24, 2019