• Women's College Basketball 10/20: Northern Michigan 74, Bay College 46
  • Men's College Soccer 10/20: Northern Michigan 2, Purdue Northwest 1
  • Women's College Softball 10/20: Finlandia 11, Bay College 1, Gm 1
  • Bay College 2, Finalndia 0, Gm 2
  • Women's College Soccer 10/20: Davenport 3, Northern Michigan 2
3867 articles
Tuesday October 22, 2019
Norse Women Rally Late To Beat Silver Lake 66-64

ESCANABA---The Bay College women's basketball team came back from eleven points down in the second half to beat the Silver Lake College Lakers, 66-64, Saturday in Escanaba. The win was the ninth straight for the Norse, and it was the toughest.

Silver Lake, a four-year school from Manitowoc, Wis., had only seven players, but were good at both ends of the court most of the afternoon. The Lakers had the lead for all but one time late in the second quarter, and at the very end of the game.

The Norse made several runs at the Lakers, but Silver Lake always semmed to have an answer. The Lakers led, 22-16, after the first quarter, but the Norse took a 30-29 lead midway through the second quarter. Silver Lake then went on an 11-2 run.

In the third quarter, Paige Welch drained  a triple, Marissa Ackerman scored a basket, and she took a charge. A JuliAnn Wickman lay-up tied the game at 48-48.

But Silver Lake's Hailee Kotche nailed a three to end the third quarter, making it 51-48.

In the fourth quarter, Haley Trudell swished a triple to bring the Norse to within 56-53, but the Lakers' tallest player, Paige Boden, got a basket and a foul shot to make it 59-53.

Things turned when Boden fouled out, and later, Angie Kudek also fouled out, leaving the Lakers with only five players for the final few minutes of the game.

Still, Silver Lake had the lead in the final minute before Trudell nailed a spot-up triple to tie the game with 35 seconds to play. The Norse played tight defense, and as the Lakers ran out of time on the shot clock, Jordan Kraemer got the steal with 4.3 seconds left.

After a time out, the play went to Kraemer, who drove inside and was fouled with 0.3 secons to play. She calmly sank both free throws to break the 64-64 tie.

Kraemer ended up with 16 points, shooting just 4-for-14 from the field, but making eight of her ten free throws. Wickman came off the bench for 13 points.. Paige Welch nailed a couple of triples and finished with seven points and six rebounds.

Keshia Davis led the Norse with nine rebounds.

For Silver Lake (4-9), Kotche had 13 points and 15 rebounds. Boden fouled out with 17 points, and Kudik fouled out with ten piints. Tasha Rabe scored eleven points.

Bay College (12-5) will be on the road for three games in three nights. The Norse will play Kennedy-King College in Chicago on Tuesday, Bryant & Stratton College in Milwaukee on Wednesday, and UW-Waukesha in suburban Milwaukee on Thursday.

All three games will be broadcast on mavericl 106.3 and radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Nate Belleville. Also, listen to post-game comments from Trudell, Wickman, and Coach Rob Robinson.

Amd hear a replay of the final minute of the game, and a Norse baseball interview with Coach Mike Pankow and player Mason Korhonen.










Choose team:
No schedule entries



Norse Announce Eight Women's Basketball Recruits
Monday June 24, 2019
END OF THE LINE: Norse Eliminated In Regionals
Sunday March 3, 2019
MOVING ON: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic In Playoffs
Wednesday February 27, 2019
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Women Fall At Finlandia U
Monday February 18, 2019
HISTORY MADE: Kraemer, Bay Ladies Rip Gogebic
Wednesday February 13, 2019
Bay College Women Grind Out Victory Over Alpena
Monday February 11, 2019
SWEET REVENGE: Bay Ladies Overwhelm Bobcats
Friday February 8, 2019
Bay Ladies Shake Off Rust; Beat Silver Lake, 70-41
Saturday February 2, 2019
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Women Win Again, 64-39
Saturday January 19, 2019
BIG REGIONAL 'W': Bay Women Roll Past Gogebic
Wednesday January 16, 2019
Norse Wrap Up Road Trip With Win At Waukesha
Thursday January 10, 2019
Bay College Women Have Winning Streak Snapped
Wednesday January 9, 2019
WINDY CITY WINNER: Norse Roll Past Statesmen
Tuesday January 8, 2019
DEFENSIVE DOMINANCE: Norse Stop Milwaukee
Sunday December 30, 2018
Norse Women Pull Away For Sixth Straight Victory
Saturday December 29, 2018
DEFENSIVE GRIND: Norse Women Top Cavaliers
Friday December 14, 2018
Second Quarter Run Powers Bay Women To Victory
Saturday December 8, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Norse Beat Skippers
Saturday December 1, 2018
Mid-Michigan Women Dominate Bay Norse, 100-36
Friday November 30, 2018
Norse Women Start Fast, Cruise Past Vermillion CC
Sunday November 25, 2018
ROUGH SECOND HALF: Norse Women Lose 74-61
Saturday November 24, 2018
Big 3rd Quarter Leads Bay College Women To Win
Saturday November 17, 2018
Norse Women Snap Skid With Win Over Marinette
Wednesday November 14, 2018
Bay College Women Drop Two Games At Tournament
Saturday November 10, 2018
FOURTH QUARTER RALLY: Bay Ladies Win, 61-47
Friday November 2, 2018