News ticker

3314 articles
Friday September 21, 2018
OVERTIME WINNER: Bay Ladies Slip Past Hibbing

IRONWOOD---The Bay College Norse women's basketball team rallied from an eleven-point deficit and beat Hibbing (Minn.) Community College, 64-60, in overtime on Saturday afternoon at the Lindquist Winter Classic in Ironwood.

The Lady Norse played for the first time in two weeks, after two previous opponents cancelled due to lack of players.

Jordan Kraemer scored 33 points and grabbed 17 rebounds to lead Bay College to the win.

Kraemer keyed a 10-0 run late in the second quarter as the Norse turned a 32-21 deficit into a one-point game at halftime.

The game was tight all the way down the stretch, with Kraemer blocking a three-point attempt and scoring two of her own at the other end to break a 51-51 tie.

But both teams failed on scoring chances in the final seconds of regulation.

Then in overtimes, Kraemer's former Norway High School teammate came up with two big plays. First, Teidra Fuson rebounded a missed three-point shot and put it back to give the Norse a 59-58 lead with 2:08 left in overtime.

Then with the Norse hanging on to a 61-60 lead, the Cardinals were going for the win when Fuson made the steal on the baseline.

Kraemer ended up with the ball, and sank two free throws to make it 63-60.

The Cardinals missed a wide-open triple that would have tied the game, and Caitlyn Hewitt made one of two free throws to put the game away at 64-60.

Hewitt had ten points and Fuson added nine to back up Kraemer's 33.

One statistic that pleased Norse Coach Rae Drake, Jr., was the fact that his team battled the Cardinals to a 44-44 draw when it came to rebounds.

On the down side, the Norse were just 1-for-16 from three point land, while the Cardinals sank 8-of-26 from behind the arc. April Hudelson had 13 points and 11 rebounds to lead Hibbing, but the Norse played strong defense on her in overtime.

Bay improved to 3-3 on the season and face a tough challenge on Sunday, taking on Highland (Kansas) Community College, which has not lost a game this season. Highland defeated Gogebic Community College, 119-62, in Saturday's late game in Ironwood.

Sunday's tip-off is set for 11 a.m. ET. The game will br broadcast on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3) and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, videos, and hear interviews with Kraemer, Fuson, Paige Welch, and Drake.










Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gogebic Women Win; Advance To Nationals, 94-82
Saturday March 10, 2018
Gogebic Women Win Regional Championship 86-67
Saturday March 3, 2018
THAT'S A WRAP: Bay Women Finish Strong, 69-58
Saturday February 24, 2018
WINNING SEASON CLINCHER: Norse Secure #13
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Women Beat Marinette With Late Rally 62-47
Wednesday February 7, 2018
Bay College Women Cruise Past Manitowoc, 54-36
Wednesday January 31, 2018
Robinette Signs To Play Basketball For Bay College
Thursday January 25, 2018
Gogebic Women Dominate Norse In First Meeting
Wednesday January 24, 2018
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Women Win Tenth Game
Sunday January 21, 2018
Norse Women Fall Short In Comeback Effort, 78-65
Saturday January 20, 2018
Norse Open Busy Stretch With Easy Victory, 87-38
Wednesday January 17, 2018
Norse Rally Falls Short In 69-60 Loss To Marathon
Monday January 8, 2018
POWER OUTAGE: Slow Start Dooms Norse Women
Friday January 5, 2018
Kraemer's Big Game Not Enough For Norse In Loss
Saturday December 30, 2017
Kraemer, Belleville Lead Norse Past Alpena, 69-37
Friday December 29, 2017
HOME AWAY FROM HOME: Bay Ladies Hang On
Saturday December 16, 2017
Bay Norse Women Cruise Past Western Tech, 63-40
Friday December 15, 2017
ROAD WARRIORS: Norse Women Outlast Alpena
Wednesday December 6, 2017
Bay College Women Battle Past St. Clair CC, 64-58
Saturday December 2, 2017
Bay Women Can't Hold Big Lead Downstate, 66-62
Friday December 1, 2017
North Dickinson's Wickman Signs With Bay College
Monday November 27, 2017
Norse Women Overwhelmed By #6 Highland, 74-36
Sunday November 26, 2017
Gladstone Girls Sign To Play Hoops At Bay College
Monday November 20, 2017
Bay College Women Slowed By MMCC Lakers 67-41
Saturday November 11, 2017
Bay College Women Cruise Past Alpena CC, 82-57
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Women Victims Of Fatigue, North Iowa Triples
Saturday November 4, 2017
Kraemer's 27 Not Enough For Bay Women In Iowa
Friday November 3, 2017
OPENING NIGHT FUN: Bay Ladies Beat Marinette
Wednesday November 1, 2017