News ticker

3314 articles
Friday September 21, 2018
Errors Costly Again As Eskymos Blow Late Lead

KINGSFORD---The Escanaba High School baseball team made six errors, including four in one inning, and lost to the Kingsford American Legion team, 8-7, Thursday night at Kingsford's Spigarelli Field. The loss was the second ugly one in a row for the Eskymos, who also lost to Marinette High School on Tuesday in another error-fest.

"We can't give teams extra outs all the time and think that we can get away with it," Escanaba Head Coach Kirk Schwalbach said. "When we play well, we can play with anyone. But when we play bad, anyone can play with us."

Devin Olsen got a no-decision Thursday.
Eskymo sophomore Devin Olsen pitched well, throwing 85 pitches over five innings and allowing just one earned run. He left with a 7-3 lead, and it looked like the Eskymos would cruise to the win, needing just six more outs to get it.

But relief Andrew Sedlar was touched up for three runs in the sixth inning, as a combination of Kingsford hits and Escanaba mistakes made for a tough inning.

Then, in the bottom of the seventh, with the Eskymos clinging to a one-run lead, senior Austin Young was brought in to pitch.

Things still looked good when the Eskymo defense got an out at the plate, but 16-year-old Mike McCole ripped a two-run double to win the game in walk-off fashion for the Blues.

Escanaba had ten hits in the ballgame, but no production from the top of the order. Sophomore Cam Beversluis and freshman Tyler Skufca both had three hits for the Eskymos at the bottom of the order.

Escanaba (15-9) doesn't have much time to think about this loss. The boys will host the Alpena Wildcats Friday night. Game time is 7:00 from Al Ness Field. The game will be broadcast live on WCHT-AM (600), and on-line at www.rrnsports.com

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box to see more photos from the game, taken by Holly Bockman.




Choose team:
Date Time Opponent Score Record
4/10
5:30 PM
Marquette Redmen
12 - 2 (W)
1-0
4/11
5:00 PM
at Norway Knights
13 - 0 (W)
2-0
4/13
4:00 PM
Rudyard Bulldogs
9 - 0 (W)
3-0
4/13
6:30 PM
Rudyard Bulldogs
9 - 4 (W)
4-0
4/14
12:30 PM
Shawano Hawks
1 - 7 (L)
4-1
4/14
3:00 PM
Shawano Hawks
0 - 1 (L)
4-2
4/17
5:30 PM
Norway Knights
17 - 0 (W)
5-2
4/19
6:00 PM
Kingsford Legion Blues
14 - 7 (W)
6-2
4/21
1:00 PM
at Appleton North Lightning
3 - 7 (L)
6-3
4/21
3:30 PM
at Appleton North Lightning
1 - 12 (L)
6-4
4/24
6:00 PM
Stephenson Eagles
14 - 4 (W)
7-4
4/26
5:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
6 - 5 (W)
8-4
4/28
12:00 PM
at Saginaw Heritage Hawks
7 - 3 (W)
9-4
4/28
2:30 PM
at Mt. Pleasant Oilers
2 - 5 (L)
9-5
5/2
6:00 PM
at Stephenson Eagles
12 - 2 (W)
10-5
5/4
5:30 PM
at DePere Redbirds
5 - 6 (L)
10-6
5/5
12:30 PM
Negaunee Miners
3 - 2 (W)
11-6
5/5
5:00 PM
Marquette Redmen
7 - 1 (W)
12-6
5/9
7:30 PM
at Gladstone Indians
4 - 5 (L)
12-7
5/10
5:30 PM
at Marquette Redmen
14 - 3 (W)
13-7
5/12
12:00 PM
Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
11 - 3 (W)
14-7
5/12
2:20 PM
Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
10 - 0 (W)
15-7
5/15
5:00 PM
at Marinette Marines
3 - 13 (L)
15-8
5/17
6:00 PM
at Kingsford Legion Blues
7 - 8 (L)
15-9
5/18
7:00 PM
Alpena Wildcats
8 - 2 (W)
16-9
5/19
12:30 PM
Petoskey Northmen
2 - 4 (L)
16-10
5/19
5:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
6 - 3 (W)
17-10
5/24
5:00 PM
at Negaunee Miners
15 - 8 (W)
18-10
5/26
10:00 AM
at Shepherd
5 - 6 (L)
18-11
5/26
12:00 PM
at Alpena Wildcats
9 - 0 (W)
19-11
5/26
2:30 PM
at Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
5 - 6 (L)
19-12
5/30
6:00 PM
Gladstone Indians
3 - 4 (L)
19-13
6/4
2:30 PM
at Cheboygan Chiefs
9 - 7 (W)
20-13
6/4
6:00 PM
at Petoskey Northmen
9 - 2 (W)
21-13
6/9
12:30 PM
at Remus Chippewa Hills
1 - 8 (L)
21-14



2012 ESCANABA CUBS TEAM ROSTER
Sunday August 26, 2012
Up-And-Down Cubs Season Ends In Shutout Loss
Friday August 3, 2012
Cubs Blow 5-0 Lead; Fall In Ten At State Tourney
Thursday August 2, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Win U.P. Zone Five Championship
Sunday July 29, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Settle For Split At U.P. Zone Finals
Thursday July 26, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Pound Menominee In Season Finale
Tuesday July 24, 2012
Eskymo David Falish Named Academic All-Stater
Monday July 23, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Split Four Games In Sault Ste. Marie
Saturday July 7, 2012
One That Got Away: Kimberly Rally Stuns Escanaba
Saturday June 30, 2012
Esky Cubs Blanked In Kimberly Tourney Opener
Friday June 29, 2012
Lamb Shuts Down Marquette As Cubs Post 3-0 Win
Wednesday June 27, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Sweep Twinbill In Daggett
Monday June 25, 2012
Mistake-Prone Cubs Lose Twice; Out of Tourney
Saturday June 23, 2012
Esky Cubs Blank Soo Canada For Tournament Split
Friday June 22, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Rally For Wild Win In Marquette
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Celebrate Successful Season
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Get Fathers Day DH Sweep
Sunday June 17, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Open Season With Five In Green Bay
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 FINAL ESKYMO BASEBALL STATS
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 ESKYMO BASEBALL ROSTER
Sunday June 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Season Ends In Regional Semifinal
Sunday June 10, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Regional Challenge
Friday June 8, 2012
District Champs! Eskymos Finally Put It Together
Monday June 4, 2012
Eskymo District Playoff Games Rained Out In Soo
Saturday June 2, 2012
Weyers Complete Game Leads Tribe Past Eskymos
Thursday May 31, 2012
Eskymos Drop Two Of Three In Sault Ste. Marie
Sunday May 27, 2012
Eskymos Top Miners Under Gale Force Winds, 15-8
Thursday May 24, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Salvage Third Place In Tourney
Saturday May 19, 2012
Falish, Skufca Lead Eskymos To Victory
Friday May 18, 2012
Mercy Killing: Eskymos Finish Zero-For-Wisconsin
Tuesday May 15, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Mistake-Prone Sault Blue Devils
Saturday May 12, 2012
Eskymos Overcome Mistakes; Win In Marquette
Thursday May 10, 2012
Indians Hang On To Beat Eskymos In Rivalry Battle
Wednesday May 9, 2012
DeHaan, Kleiman Lead Eskymos To Tourney Sweep
Sunday May 6, 2012
Eskymos Start Fast But Fall Again In Wisconsin 6-5
Friday May 4, 2012
Olsen Leads Eskymos To 12-2 Win At Stephenson
Wednesday May 2, 2012
Eskymos Beat Saginaw; Nearly Topple Mt. Pleasant
Sunday April 29, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Saginaw Showcase
Friday April 27, 2012
Eskymos Rally For Walk-Off Win Over Negaunee
Thursday April 26, 2012
Eskymos Top Stephenson In Sloppy Baseball Match
Tuesday April 24, 2012
Eskymos Struck By Lightning Twice In Appleton
Saturday April 21, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Beat Kingsford In Cold Rain
Friday April 20, 2012
Eskymos Shivver, Roll Past Norway Again, 17-0
Tuesday April 17, 2012
Eskymos Suffer Power Outage In Loss To Shawano
Saturday April 14, 2012
Delta County Boy Scouts Help Eskymos With Flag
Saturday April 14, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Rudyard To Start Big Homestand
Friday April 13, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Rip Norway To Go To 2-0
Wednesday April 11, 2012
Eskymos Open Season With Win Over Marquette
Tuesday April 10, 2012
Young Eskymos Ready For 2012 Baseball Season
Sunday April 8, 2012
Schwalbach Hired As New Eskymo Baseball Coach
Saturday March 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball, Softball Teams Start Practice
Friday March 16, 2012